Friday Night Music: Labor Day

It’s already September y’all. I don’t know if time is flying because I’m having fun or because I’m working my ass off. Either way, it’s Labor Day weekend, and I smell football season in the air.

I appreciate y’all keeping things going when I’m scarce here. I’ve been doing a fair amount of overtime, and I also temporarily switched shifts. Today is my one day off (I go in tonight), so I thought I’d put up some fresh sheets. What better cause is there than music?

I was thinking about songs that revolve around working, and there were many to choose from. Donna Summer’s She Works Hard for the Money and Dolly Parton’s 9 to 5 immediately came to mind. I thought about Johnny Kemp and Just Got Paid always rings a nice tone on a Friday.

Tapping into my country roots, I considered Alabama’s 40 Hour Week and Merle Haggard’s Workin’ Man’s Blues. I’m tired but not in a blue mood, so I continued my search. Then it hit me.

The best way to honor the holiday for the working man (IMHO) is to celebrate those who are putting in the work. We had a bit of a scare yesterday at the airport with a package that turned out okay. I tip my cap to those who respond to calls like that. In addition, I’m watching the prosecutors who are lining up cases to protect America and the Constitution. They are true to their oaths of office, and I respect that.

Happy Labor Day weekend to all, especially those who are taking care of business.

3,361 thoughts on “Friday Night Music: Labor Day

    • Yep…
      A total clusterfvck amongst the cultists in the HoR.

      Dems should continue to vote for Jeffries and let the cultists continue to fight it out and backstab each other.

      Repub voters … remember right before this speaker debacle there was the funding issue with the potential to close down a good bit of the government.
      McCarthy and other Rs directly stated they would not be working with the Dems on a resolution….. yes that was their choice.
      So save me the bs about the Dems not helping to elect a cultist as SoH.

      Dems should hold the line and let the Rs continue to demonstrate just how utterly pathetic they are at leading, managing, governing & administrating.
      I don’t care if there are Rs in the HoR who have or do run successful businesses (yes some of them do). Collectively in the HoR they pretty much suck at their job … non Rs damn sure know it and you R voters know it but just don’t have it in you to admit it.

      Simply embarrassing

      Liked by 5 people

  1. A woman on Twitter with peacenik and other groovy stuff in her bio reposted some BS from a god damn libertarian asshole that sows division quoting fake Quaran passages. I took her to the wood shed. She deleted it.

    On a happier note. The kid doesn’t need an infusion. Just some fluids and then back home. Thank you Children’s Hospital. Thank you. Glad we live right down the street.

    Y’all did really good with the positive. Thank y’all. Peace.

    Liked by 5 people

  2. Good news is the kid doesn’t have chemo again til November 1st. Bad news is the last dose has her miserable. She did a half a day at school yesterday and has been feeling terrible ever since. She’s in the hospital but it wasn’t a rush omg thing. She was supposed to have a check up tomorrow. The awesome folks at Children’s moved it up. She’ll probably get fluids and an infusion and be fine. This is good because she has big weekend coming up. Stay positive y’all. Peace.

    Liked by 6 people

  3. I think this is still in the works…

    “First, some background about the project: Georgia DOT is planning to construct truck-only lanes on I-75 North. The project extends from I-475 in Macon to McDonough. There would be two barrier-separated travel lanes built parallel to the interstate. ”

    https://mhfnews.org/2023/08/03/a-look-at-the-i-75-truck-lanes-study-results/#:~:text=I%2D75%20Truck%20Only%20Lanes,built%20parallel%20to%20the%20interstate.

    Liked by 3 people

    • I don’t know if it exists or if it was just something that was discussed but I remember reading about some super highway in Texas which would have truck-only lanes.
      My first reaction is that it seems like a pretty good idea. I drove a big U-haul towing my van down here from DC about a month ago and I kept thinking about how annoyed I would be if I’d been driving an 18-wheeler and constantly being cut off, or held back by people camping out going 10 under the speed limit in the middle lane.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I used to drive I-85 frequently from Atlanta to Greenville and it was 2 lanes from Hamilton Mill Parkway to exit 18 in South Carolina. It is very hilly so the trucks would slow the traffic down especially if some clown trucker tried to pass another truck on a hill. It needs to be widened to at least 3 lanes if it hasn’t been already. I last drove that stretch in 2019.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I’ve dealt with that in the past…
          They are adding a lane now, at least on the GA side. There’s construction starting maybe 10 miles south of the border and it goes on for quite a while south from there.
          It looks like there may not be much left but I wasn’t born yesterday…

          Like

  4. Who’s keeping Trump’s legal calendar these days?
    Monday in DC
    Tuesday—FBI offices and civil fraud case about inflating assets, NY
    Friday—jury selection in ATL—does he have to be there for that?

    If he doesn’t campaign outside of court houses, when will he have the time?

    Liked by 4 people

    • While many nations have adopted more-nutritious school meals and stricter advertising standards, pizza sauce and french fries still count as vegetables for schoolchildren in the United States, and U.S. food companies remain virtually free to advertise to youngsters any way they like.

      I don’t know if I should cry or punch a MFer, but I don’t seem to have any MFers handy at the moment…

      Also, cookies? For lunch??? WTF? I’m not sure even second grade me would’ve thought that was a good idea. (I would’ve eaten the cookie though. Obviously.)

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Finally made my Covid booster vax appointment. Publix website had been down for a couple of days. Goin Friday as the wife and kids will be out of town. Funny aside, the website does not recognize Atlanta as a town or city. Seriously. So for city, I typed in Dekalb (which we all know is not a city) and it went through. Crazy stupid. Oh well.

    Liked by 7 people

  6. Actually Peach, ole Kyle Wingfield wrote a piece years ago. There is a port, a train port in the NW corner of Georgia. Trucks unload there and the cargo bypasses our highways and instead travels by rail all the way to Savannah. It was done through public private partnership and he was fully supportive.

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Last night my kid called to say that after he came back from his lab he went out jogging in the dark. He saw from a slight distance a cat cross the road and he kept on running. He heard a woman yelling at him and he stopped to listen. She was warning him that a fox with rabbies was attacking passing cars. He made about turn and headed home. Getting down to do some writing he realized he left his laptops in the lab. He got in his car to head out he saw bunch of squad cars around and the cops were trying to hunt the fox. To me the funny part they all had hand guns and no shot guns and no animal control vehicles around. I don’t care how good a shot one is, the chance of hitting a fast moving fox with a hand gun is slim to non. Yet they were trying.

    Liked by 5 people

  8. The agile two-seater Stella Terra solar car just finished a 620-mile off-roading adventure in Morocco and the Sahara, all on a single charge. The designers behind the project say it isn’t just about maximizing range and distance, but showing off the car’s lightweight, aerodynamic design and its ability to traverse tough terrain without any major drama or head rattling. Land Rover and BMW, take note.
    The brainchild of students at the Eindhoven University of Technology, the funky-looking olive green Stella Terra won’t win any best-looking awards. The design is geared to push “the boundaries of technology,“ says team manager Wisse Bose. “The Stella Terra must withstand the harsh conditions of off-roading while remaining efficient and light enough to be powered by the sun. That is why we had to design almost everything for Stella Terra ourselves, from the suspension to the inverters for the solar panels.”

    Research at schools will always be better than R&D in companies. They think outside the box.

    Liked by 3 people

  9. Liked by 8 people

    • I was thinking about the movie Lawrence of Arabia right after the Hamas attack. But refrained from saying anything. Kostas showed a map where the whole sub continent was divided into three countries of which two are on each other’s throat with nuclear weapons which neither can afford. And Burma is a shit show for a while. Oh well got to live with it now.

      Liked by 2 people

    • It’s a fair point.

      I’m fully aware of the Balfour Declaration, Sykes-Picot Agreement, the League of Nations Mandates for Britain and France. And unlike Israelis I know that the original terrorists post-WWII in the region (heck they started during the war) were the Irgun and the Stern Gang

      Liked by 5 people

    • COME HELL OR HIGH WATER

      When then-Vice President Joe Biden came to Savannah in 2013 to declare the dredging would happen “come hell or high water” it kicked off yet another phase of congressional wrangling for legislation that authorized the digging and funding to pay for it. It was only formally completed last year.

      Now, a little over a year after the expansion was finished, Georgia is pressing again for deeper water to capitalize on a shift in international trade that has made Savannah the nation’s fourth-busiest port for cargo shipped in containers. Officials say the booming port will lag competitors if their request is ignored.

      Liked by 3 people

  10. DOJ has appealed the sentences given to 5 Proud Boys. They did the same thing for 5 Oath Keepers in July.
    Good.
    Not sure how this works. If the appellate judge simply refers it back to the original judge, I’m not sure that it would matter.
    But I like it.

    Liked by 3 people

  11. Stephen A Smith nailed it. . . !

    Colorado better wake up!

    I still believe.

    🚨 ABSOLUTE DISGRACE! 🚨 Stephen A. HITS OUT at Deion Sanders’ loss to Stanford! | First Take

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Heat in peppers is measured in Scoville Heat Units. Zero is bland, and a regular jalapeno pepper registers about 5,000 units. A habanero, the record-holder about 25 years ago, typically tops 100,000. The Guinness Book of World Records lists the Carolina Reaper at 1.64 million units.
    Pepper X’s record is an average of 2.69 million units. By comparison, pepper spray commonly holstered by police is around 1.6 million units. Bear spray advertises at 2.2 million units.

    Holy cow. I grow the Reaper in pots and that pepper is frigging hot. I can’t grind reaper in a spice grinder in the kitchen. Have to do it outdoors. I dilute it with red bells to make sauce for my kid. He loves that hot stuff. A little bit goes a long way.

    Now I got get some of the Pepper X seeds.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I don’t know what kind of soil you have up there, but it might matter.
      Mr Peach tried to grow Hatch Green Chilies on our balcony. The plants were beautiful, peppers were large, all around it looked like a great success. Except they had no flavor. 😦 I don’t know if he watered them too much or what. We were sad.

      Liked by 2 people

      • I use mulch and make my own potting soil. When the plant is maturing I fertilizer and every three weeks I pour a little bit of hydrogen peroxide. Try that next year. Also try adding a little lime to keep the soil slightly basic. Next time I go to Atlanta I’ll leave a little bit of urea with Jeff. I have plenty of it in my garage. I’ll let you know and you can pick it up from him.

        Like

        • A very kind offer. I talked to Mr. Peach and he’s given up on the pepper project. He’s kind of a one and done guy.

          Like

    • Nothing in the article surprises me.
      What does surprise me is that it is in Newsweek – a formerly excellent publication that is now owned by a RWAH who bought the name.

      Liked by 2 people

  13. The Biden campaign Monday joined Truth Social, the platform founded by former President Trump, pushing its message on a platform largely dominated by the former president and his followers.
    “Well. Let’s see how this goes. Converts welcome!” the campaign wrote in its first post on the platform under the handle @BidenHQ.

    LMAO. 😁😁😁

    Liked by 7 people

  14. For the past couple of decades, tens of thousands of people living in rural Sri Lanka have been devastated by kidney failure due to unclear causes, also known as CKDu. Similar incidences of mysterious kidney diseases have emerged in tropical farming communities around the world.

    This is caused by glyphoste. It is the main ingredient in Roundup.

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Judge Chutkin has made it clear to both camps that if Mcloudmouth does not abide by limited gag order she reserves the right to take action. One of her options is slamming the fatass in jail. She has her eyes on him and goes about her daily business.

    Liked by 2 people

  16. The exit polls from Poland’s election have Eurocrats grinning like Cheshire cats.
    After years of estrangement and antagonism, Poland’s centrist opposition Civic Coalition, has a simple message for Brussels: “We, the fifth-largest country in the EU fold, are back!”
    The fact that they’re led by former European Council chief Donald Tusk means the EU believes them.
    Brussels has been deeply worried about Poland’s election.
    Little was said in public. EU figures don’t want to be seen as interfering in national votes, but behind closed doors there was a tonne of euro-nail-biting.
    Poland and Hungary have long been viewed as the EU bad-boys: flawed democracies and EU-hostile.

    https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-67118795

    Didn’t know much about this election. Glad to hear the good guys are leading.

    Liked by 4 people

  17. Nobel Prize Laureate Katalin Karikó on Her Hungarian Childhood

    Nice story. Childhood story of a Nobel winner. Daughter of a professional butcher. This shows going to a fancy school as a child means nothing. Either you have it or you don’t.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gym is going to win – for a reason well expounded by Kristol.
      This is the exception to the rule that Kristol is wrong about everything.

      Liked by 4 people

  18. Jim Jordan Wins Over Key Votes For Speaker, Still Faces Obstacles
    Three GOP lawmakers announced their support for the Ohio Republican’s bid to become House speaker on Monday after expressing serious reservations.

    That means he still doesn’t have 217. 😁😁

    Liked by 5 people

  19. “ “Trump and his lawyers have framed the potential order as an issue of free speech and warned that restraining his speech would unfairly favor his political opponents.”

    So, what they’re saying is that the political is moar important to the cult than rule of law.“

    Imo Trump and his attorneys are essentially admitting what many have said since he jumped in the 2024 race. He thinks it will assist in evading legal issues.
    Sure he loves the power and attention but he seems to have known since he left office indictments were coming. So in his mind running for POTUS is supposed to shield him from legal issues and of course if he wins potentially keep him out of prison.
    I’m not in the camp of those who think a convicted Trump will go to prison but Trump is trying to cover the bases in hopes that running might directly or indirectly help him out.

    I’m of the thought that even with all the current indictments they (legal system) will never catch up to and charge that POS for a tenth of the wrongdoing he has committed before being POTUS, while in office and since he left.

    FTG….

    Liked by 3 people

  20. “Judge Tanya S. Chutkan said she was worried about Donald Trump’s specific insults against special counsel Jack Smith and his team. He has called them “thugs.”
    She said it reminded her of “Will no one rid me of this meddlesome priest?” — a reference to a King Henry II’s complaint about the archbishop of Canterbury, who was subsequently murdered.”

    Wow. I hope that was for the media because the good lord knows, that went right over the defendant’s head.

    Liked by 6 people

  21. I have to go to a funeral tomorrow. It’s for a seventeen year old young man. He was autistic. It was a freak accident. He also was a twin. His brother was not on the spectrum. I can’t imagine the pain of the parents or his brother. Truly heartbreaking.

    @Jeffrey

    Those we love and lose are always connected by the deepest

    feelings into infinity and grief is the last act of love !

    My sister was holding her son’s hand when he took his last breath

    and his wife took a picture of her holding his hand as he passed away.

    I cry every time I think about it.

    “Truly heartbreaking.”

    “Blessed are those who mourn,

    for they will be comforted.”

    Matthew 5:4

    Liked by 2 people

  22. The order restricts Trump’s ability to publicly target court personnel, potential witnesses, or the special counsel and his staff. The order did not impose restrictions on disparaging comments about Washington, DC, – where the jury will take place – or certain comments about the Justice Department at large, both of which the government requested.
    “This is not about whether I like the language Mr. Trump uses,” Judge Tanya Chutkan said. “This is about language that presents a danger to the administration of justice.”

    https://www.cnn.com/2023/10/16/politics/trump-gag-order-chutkan-hearing/index.html

    Well put judge. No wonder most people praise her.

    Liked by 4 people

  23. Fani and defense lawyers will be screening 900 folks for the upcoming trial. I wonder if any of Bro’s blog contributors are in the pool of 900.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Biden Says It Would Be ‘Big Mistake’ For Israel To Reoccupy Gaza
    The White House has fiercely defended Israel after Hamas’ surprise attack earlier this month.

    I hope coolers heads like Joe prevail. Alas Bibi and a gang of numbnuts are running the show. Taking out Hamas will not be easy. But stupid RWers over there will screw things up. Remember RW dumbasses like Dick, W and Rummy screwed up in 2003.

    Liked by 2 people

  25. Till last year I never liked butter nut squash. My kid fixed it just right for me. Now is the season for that squash. Sure going to fix like he did. I have some other ideas like adding the latest BBQ sauce to it. Let you know how it turn out.

    Liked by 4 people

  26. I have to go to a funeral tomorrow. It’s for a seventeen year old young man. He was autistic. It was a freak accident. He also was a twin. His brother was not on the spectrum. I can’t imagine the pain of the parents or his brother. Truly heartbreaking.

    Liked by 4 people

  27. Sooo… “someone” found this, and their “facts” appear in need of correcting: “13 Stereotypes every Swede hates”

    – Everyone Eats Herring
    it really only comes out a few times a year and yes, most Swedes will eat it, even if only ‘to taste it.’

    No. Most Swedes will NOT eat it. When herring is served (they’re right about the occasions: Mid summer, etc.), it’s common to also serve an alternate dish for those who won’t eat herring.

    – They talk like the Swedish Chef

    Does anybody actually believe that? I doubt it, but the Swedish Chef character was allegedly based on a Norwegian roommate of Jim Henson’s.

    – Swedes are sexually liberated

    If you’re from some Catholic country like Italy, yeah maybe. Otherwise? Eh. Nudity though? Not a very big deal.

    – There’s an IKEA on every corner

    No. Also, there are much nicer furniture stores than IKEA.

    – Meatballs for dinner! Every day!

    Yes, with herring. Swedish meatballs ARE much superior to Italian meatballs though.

    Liked by 5 people

    • Fun fact!

      Not Swedish or Finnish fun fact, but a Norwegian one…

      My grandfather’s last name was Ruud. His second cousin was the great Birger Ruud.

      I believe the story on Birger was that he innovated the lean forward technique in ski jumping instead of the flapping or twirling arms technique that was used before him.

      Liked by 6 people

      • Cool!
        I think there was another famous Ruud. Hmm…
        Well also, Evinrude, the outboard motor guy, was a Norwegian immigrant, but that’s a little different.

        Like

    • “Someone” couldn’t actually think of anything stereotypical about Swedes on short notices so he just googled “Swedish Stereotypes” and picked the first item on the list.

      Shame on me… er, “someone… for not at least reaching for the IKEA meatballs.

      BTW, “someone’s” Mrs. is half swede, second generation immigrant on her dad’s side.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Oh no, no shame. Herring is a step up from teh meatballs, IMO.
        But no stereotypes?

        Lessee…
        We’re blond. – No we’re not.
        We all drive Volvo – well.. yes.
        We all love ABBA – Don’t hate ’em, listened to Beach Boys growing up. Half the school listened to Kiss and did hate ABBA.
        Swedish Fish
        Swedish Watches – no, they’re *SWISS* (By the way, the Swiss have issues with ABBA and Volvo stereotypes…)
        Swedish Chocolate – Again, Swiss.
        IKEA – it really gets me when people think the only Swedish companies of note are Volvo and IKEA. What’s American anyway – Smith and Wesson?

        Ah yes, and last but not least:
        The Swedish Bikini team… Seriously, the women ARE beautiful but you know what’s funny? The immigrant women in Sweden are equally beautiful. It’s like gym class and feeding the kids in school is good for them or something. Ah yes, and not having to drive that Volvo everywhere.

        Liked by 3 people

  28. US wants Egypt to open border to allow Americans to exit and aid to get in… I see nothing that indicates HAMAS would allow either to happen.

    Because “social media” and mainstream media images of dead Gazans are way more beneficial to HAMAS than any goodwill generated by allowing innocents to flee or otherwise be helped.

    Liked by 3 people

  29. First American casualty of this constant I vs H war coverage by media. This is going one for over a weekk. In Illinois, this 71 yo white landlord goes and knocks on the door of this Muslim mother’s apartment. After she opened the door he started stabbing the mother and her 6 yo boy. She lived the boy died. The media is infllamming the situation.

    Like

  30. Today is the 55th year anniversary of the fist salute by Smith and Carlos in Mexico Olympics. Smith was dearly punished for it. He had move out to England was in charge of athletics in some small high school. He was the fastest man between 68 and 72. He was not allowed to participate in Munich. Boy those white Boyz in power were scared by one black man and then went about destroying his life.

    Liked by 6 people

  31. Some guy in Savannah was sent an excessive speeding ticket for $1.4 million. He was caught doing 90 in a 55 mph zone. He called the court which said he either had to pay the fine or show up in court. FWIW 90 mph is 145 kph.
    “We do not issue that placeholder as a threat to scare anybody into court, even if this person heard differently from somebody in our organization,”
    You say what?
    The spokesman added “the court is currently working on adjusting the placeholder language to avoid any confusion.”

    There ougtha be a law.

    Liked by 3 people

      • Sweden used to do the same, but Google tells me they did away with that rule so the highest fine is now ~ $400. Stupid idea, IMO.

        A Swede did get the largest fine in history, going 290km/h (180mph) through Switzerland in his brand new AMG SLS. The ticket was about $800,000.

        Liked by 1 person

          • Yeah. I guess the issue is that the law didn’t account for “obscene” income levels.
            If the person being fined makes $200M / year… the fine would have to be millions before it hurt – but millions for a speeding ticket?
            But then what do you do.. Jail? Maybe for Mr Rich who’s just laughing off his silly little speeding fines, but for the average person? Probably not a good idea.

            Liked by 2 people

          • It was based on income, yeah. Specifically how much you made in a day. So you’d get fined, say 10 “day fines(!?)” and if you made $100 / day, that’s $1,000. Make $10,000 / day, your fine was $100K.
            If you were unemployed, there was a low minimum of the equivalent of a couple of bucks or so.

            Liked by 2 people

        • Speeding in Switzerland! I’ve driven or ridden through there a couple of times and my French colleagues always warned me to keep to the limit.

          Now, driving a C-class on the autoroute from Basel to Colmar, on the other hand….

          Liked by 1 person

    • Rufus,
      I was trying to figure out why Ms. Bowers was an idiot. Then I clicked on the “sensitive” tweet.
      I guess in Ms. Blackburn’s world, less is more.

      Liked by 3 people

    • This friend of mine, I used to walk with 20 years ago, taught me this tactics a politician uses to make himself relevant. He said that, take a non issue like rape and inject it in the conversation. In this case deathsentence created a scenario where he wants us to believe the Gazan refugees are coming here. I hope media calls out his lie.

      Liked by 3 people

    • As I mentioned to Jay, someone really ought to deliver a righteous sermon from the pulpit calling out the root causes of this horror and urging people to get off their asses and [flipping] do something to stop it already, however they can.

      Liked by 1 person

  32. After 1 quarter in Las Vegas.
    New England 0 first downs. Total offense minus 2 yards.

    In good news Mac Jones hasn’t thrown a pick 6 yet – he also hasn’t completed a pass.

    Liked by 3 people

  33. While researching the economics of clean energy innovation, I came across a little-known story: that of Canadian inventor George Cove, one of the world’s first renewable energy entrepreneurs. Cove invented household solar panels that looked uncannily similar to the ones being installed in homes today—they even had a rudimentary battery to keep power running when the sun wasn’t shining. Except this wasn’t in the 1970s. Or even the 1950s. This was in 1905.
    Cove’s company, Sun Electric Generator Corporation, based in New York, was capitalized at US$5 million (around US$160 million in today’s money). By 1909, the idea had gained widespread media attention. Modern Electric magazine highlighted how “given two days’ sun… [the device] will store sufficient electrical energy to light an ordinary house for a week.”
    It noted how cheap solar energy could liberate people from poverty, “bringing them cheap light, heat and power, and freeing the multitude from the constant struggle for bread.” The piece went on to speculate how even airplanes could be powered by batteries charged by the sun. A clean energy future seemed to be there for the taking.
    Then, according to a report in The New York Herald on 19 October 1909, Cove was kidnapped. The condition for his release required forgoing his solar patent and shutting down the company. Cove refused and was later released near the Bronx Zoo.
    But after this incident, his solar business fizzled out. Which seems odd—in the years before the kidnapping, he had developed several iterations of the solar device, improving it each time.

    https://techxplore.com/news/2023-10-solar-entrepreneur-hadnt-kidnapped-fossil.amp

    Did anyone hear this before? This is the first time heard about this guy.

    Liked by 4 people

  34. Here to say it’s always weird for me to see my first snap of live NFL on TV after watching mostly baseball for one’s sports ball entertainment for a solid five months.

    Anyway, good luck, Falcons. Not looking so great at the moment.

    Liked by 1 person

  35. Good morning, Brosephians
    Yesterday’s jog felt so good I put 5 more on it this morning
    Yeah baby

    Health is wealth
    If you have the ability to do some form of exercise then pick your poison and get to it. Don’t end up regretting that you didn’t do what you could have done to assist in your health and wellbeing.

    Go get you some

    Liked by 2 people

  36. Lindsey wants to use our military to stop Iran from helping Hamas and Hezbollah. Geez whiz. Israel couldn’t do it and what makes him so sure we can. Haven’t these AHs learnt any lesson from 2001 to 2003 misadventure in that region? You want to stick your damn nose there then send in those crack Nazi and neonazi troops, from this country.

    Liked by 2 people

    • How, exactly, does he propose to do that, because I can only think of one way, and that’s to, um, “neutralize” Iran’s military.
      If it was a shitty, not well thought-out idea to invade Iraq, attacking Iran would be the dumbest idea since the last time someone decided to invade Russia in the winter.

      Liked by 1 person

  37. The 24-year-old says an international celebrity messaged her bodyguard while she was in a club in Miami offering the grand sum for the privilege of enjoying her company for a night.
    Lehmann says she turned the offer down but still has the proof of the offer from the unnamed suitor.

    Got to be DiCaprio. That is sick.

    Like

  38. NASA’s Psyche spacecraft rocketed away Friday on a six-year journey to a rare metal-covered asteroid.
    Most asteroids tend to be rocky or icy, and this is the first exploration of a metal world. Scientists believe it may be the battered remains of an early planet’s core, and could shed light on the inaccessible centers of Earth and other rocky planets.
    SpaceX launched the spacecraft into an overcast midmorning sky from NASA’s Kennedy Space Center. Named for the asteroid it’s chasing, Psyche should reach the huge, potato-shaped object in 2029.

    NASA is doing some cool research. They got out of day to day work of ferrying astraunots to space center. Now they are concentrating on far reaching experiments.

    Liked by 2 people

  39. That bill that passed to better our infrastructure and increase renewable is a boon for Michigan. That bill has $8 B for hydrogen. Michigan gets $1 B of it to set a plant in Ypsilanti as the hub for H2 production. Refueling centers for big trucks will be built. Several thousand construction jobs will be created and 1500 permanent jobs to run everything. Michigan will be the mid West hub. Gov Whitmer should be congratulated for bringing this project to her state. What is Ohio gov doing for his state. Zilch nada.

    Liked by 1 person

  40. Stands was down in my neck of the woods yesterday. He, of course was at a meeting with other folks like him that are trying to save the world. He swung by for a porch session. I think he likes the new floor. We talked about all kindsa groovy stuff. He checked out the girls newest guitar and our newish silly little Rottweiler. It was great.

    Liked by 7 people

  41. Letter to the editor, in the outbox.
    “On Sunday, Mr Krugman of the NYT explains the benefits of the pill
    I am informed that modern birth control has had a profound economic and social impact. And if that comes at a surprise to me, I have plenty of company (paraphrased). Mr. Krugman, I don’t know a single woman who is unaware of this. Not one. Perhaps you are speaking for the other half of the population.

    And then I learn, around 1970 there was a quiet revolution .…”as women began to view work much the same way men did” Sir, do you know when the pill became available to nonmarried women? 1972.
    Woman didn’t have a great awakening in the 70s and say, I too can do this. Women were finally given the tools, which were available in 1960 to married women do what they wanted.

    I had to explain this to my daughters, as they have always had access. Paul Krugman is 70 years old. He lived through this era. Of course, he was a man, so maybe it didn’t come to his attention?

    Liked by 9 people

    • I should make it clear, I do not consider the gentlemen of this blog to be part of “the other half of the population”–at least as it applies here

      Liked by 1 person

    • And if that comes at a surprise to me, I have plenty of company (paraphrased).
      Not me. Jeez.

      Of course, he was a man, so maybe it didn’t come to his attention?
      I don’t know anything about his love life, but I think it would usually require some effort on the man’s part to have it not “come to his attention”. Plenty of women might not be comfortable talking about it either so there’s that, but then what made them uncomfortable enough in the first place?

      Liked by 2 people

  42. With it being the international break in soccer (no EPL games) and an off week for GT I had no distractions from yardwork.
    Mowing grass for 2 hours. Cutting down bushes for 2 hours. Loading up the truck with brush and taking it to the township brush dump.
    I discovered one thing – I’m getting too old for this sh!t.

    I’m refreshing myself with a modified high ascorbic acid juice – aka a screwdriver.

    Liked by 9 people

  43. I’ve said all week that UGA wouldn’t take Vandy seriously and they’d go back to playing with their food.

    Vandy looked really good today and were in it ’til the very end.

    Liked by 3 people

  44. Mike Lindell Holding Telethon to Raise Money for New Lawyer

    This guy can’t sell pillows, what makes believe that he can ask money from his Maga crowd. These nuts are paying Mcorange’s legal bills.

    @rimsky

    I donate 5¢ to the Mike Lindell Maggot Telethon !

    All pennies!

    Yogi Berra – “A nickel ain’t worth a dime anymore.”

    😁😁

    Liked by 2 people

  45. Top House Republican Wants Help From Democrats to Pick a Speaker
    Armed Services chair asks Democrats for conditions to cut deal
    Foreign Affairs chair floats expanding McHenry’s powers

    All righty then. Here is the list of D demands. 😁😁

    Liked by 2 people

  46. Mike Lindell Holding Telethon to Raise Money for New Lawyer

    This guy can’t sell pillows, what makes believe that he can ask money from his Maga crowd. These nuts are paying Mcorange’s legal bills.

    Like

Comments are closed.