Uncomfortable History Month begins

Today is February 1st which means it’s also the beginning of Black History Month in the US. I typically don’t like to celebrate this as I personally think that Black History is American History.

However, since white guilt seems to be an issue nowadays, I’m going to go out of my way to make some folks feel uncomfortable.

So, for the next 28 days, I am going to search for something significant about American history and its apparent ability to make Americans uncomfortable.

Image via NCpedia.org

To kick things off, we’ll honor February 1st and the Greensboro Four.

On this date in 1960, four college freshmen from North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University (NC A&T) decided to take on segregation by staging a sit-in at Woolworth’s lunch counter. Ezell Blair Jr (now Jibreel Khazan), Joseph McNiel, Franklin McCain, and David Richmond started what eventually became a mass sit-in protest in more than 50 cities around the South.

Remember this and other stories in the age of “CRT” banning. It’s not about dealing with racism and the lasting legacy of discrimination. It’s all just about hiding the past to protect the feelings of White Americans who either participated in racist activities in the past or sat back in silent complicity.

You can’t hide history, and you can’t pretend these things didn’t happen. You’re also not going to stop folks from teaching history either. So, if you’re offended by American History, then this may be a good month to take a break from here.

 

269 thoughts on “Uncomfortable History Month begins

  1. Pingback: The Meerkat Muse - 9th February 22 - Meerkat Musings

  2. Irrational racist sentiment is too often handed down generation to generation, regardless of race or religion, etcetera. If it’s deliberate, it’s something I strongly feel amounts to a form of child abuse: to rear one’s impressionably very young children in an environment of overt bigotry — especially against other races and/or sub-racial groups (i.e. ethnicities). Not only does it fail to prepare children for the practical reality of an increasingly racially/ethnically diverse and populous society and workplace, it also makes it so much less likely those children will be emotionally content or (preferably) harmonious with their multicultural/-racial surroundings.

    Children reared into their adolescence and, eventually, young adulthood this way can often be angry yet not fully realize at precisely what. Then they may feel left with little choice but to move to another part of the land, where their race or ethnicity predominates, preferably overwhelmingly so. If not for themselves, parents then should do their young children a big favor and NOT pass down onto their very impressionable offspring racially/ethnically bigoted feelings and perceptions, nor implicit stereotypes and ‘humor’, for that matter. Ironically, such rearing can make life much harder for one’s own children.

    One means of proactively preventing this social/societal problem may be by allowing young children to become accustomed to other races in a harmoniously positive manner. The early years are typically the best time to instill and even solidify positive social-interaction life skills/traits, like interracial harmonization, into a very young brain. Human infancy is the prime (if not the only) time to instill and even solidify positive social-interaction characteristics into a very young mind.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t heard from Rich Lady in 2 weeks. We figure they changed up her meds or Jesus has her on another quest.
    I spot this ad on Indeed looking for a cook at the private country club. The ad says they want someone to redesign their menue.
    I go interview and they want 2 years experience as a head chef. I took them a list of dishes I do well.
    Interview went well, but they really want the two years experience.
    A few days go buy and I call to show interest. They say I’m in the running.
    Yawn, fuck that, I go into beast mode
    I cooked them a 12 hour brisket, a slab of ribs, some chicken wings, and roasted Brussel Sprouts.

    They called today and and made me an offer.

    I’m changing my name from skydog to ChefDog.

    Now I’m having 2nd thoughts. Has my gift of bs overloaded my ass?
    That’s the same thoughts I had 40 years ago when I was offered an engineering job.

    Fuck it, we got this.

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.