2016 strikes again

Not a day goes by that I don’t have something on my mind that I want to discuss.  The problem nowadays is finding the time to sit long enough to draft something out.  Every now and then, you just have to make the time.

I’m tired of 2016 already.  If it wasn’t bad enough that my allergies got me so bad that I looked like I had been punched by Mike Tyson in a street fight (remember Mitch Green?), it seems like rarely does a week go by without hearing about the loss of a cultural icon.  April 20-21 was bad because I got hit by a one-two combination with WWE’s Chyna and then Prince.

Those who really know me can tell you that I am a huge wrestling fan.  I know it’s choreographed.  I can also tell you that it’s not fake as people like to say.  When you know people who have more metal in them than a Megadeath concert, those injuries don’t just pop out of thin air.

Chyna was a beast in the ring.  Branding herself as the 9th Wonder of the World wasn’t as much as hype as it was reality.  She was probably the strongest female wrestler I’ve ever seen perform, and she mixed it up with the guys as much as she did with the ladies.  At one time, she even held the Intercontinental Championship Belt which was no easy task to get.  I never had the opportunity to meet her in person, and I’m not really sure what she would have been like if I had.  Most wrestlers that I have known were pretty cool people who were just like the person next door minus the notoriety that comes with their jobs.

May she get the peace she deserves away from the demons that chased her after she quit wrestling.  I think she deserves that much.  Kinda like Farrah Fawcett, she’ll likely receive fewer tributes in death because of her death being overshadowed by someone else.  In Farrah’s case, it was Michael Jackson.  For Chyna, it’s Prince.

That album cover was my official introduction to Prince.  I had heard his songs but never knew who was on the other side of those speakers.  Controversy changed all that.

I didn’t want to be Prince, the artist.  I knew I couldn’t sing that high, and I didn’t have perfect pitch like him.  I wanted to be Prince, the musician.  Dude kicked ass on any instrument that he touched.  I bet he could have probably done the Star Spangled Banner on a kazoo and brought the crowd to its knees before it was finished.

I play the drums, taught myself how to peck away on the piano, and I took up the trumpet in my senior year of high school.  To this day, however, I can’t hold a candle to Prince’s guitar talent, even in my dreams.  It’s one of those things that I think I would need a Matrix-styled download right into the brain to even come close to being able to play like that.  I hate that I never got to see him perform in person live, even as his last performance was right up the interstate from me at the Fox Theater in Atlanta.

Gonna go and look at my Purple Rain album and cover.  Yes, I still have it in the house, and no I will not sell it.  That is, in my honest opinion, still a very high watermark for a movie soundtrack to hit, and very few will probably surpass that mark.

Rest in Peace Prince.  Your talent, drive, and music will continue to inspire others for generations to come.  I see no way that your footprints on this planet will ever disappear.

Update 4/22/2016 7:25pm

Going through storage in my crawlspace produced the following…

image

If you don’t have a physical copy of Prince, then you don’t have a legal copy as only his Tidal releases were available in digital download format. And, yes they are original vinyl.

2 thoughts on “2016 strikes again

    • Amen!!! I was looking over a list of notable deaths since December, and it’s way, way too long and filled with nothing but talented and gifted people. I know people can’t live forever, but 57 is way too young to go.

      Like

Leave a Reply

