Welcome 2016

Peach Drop at Underground Atlanta 12/31/2015

Goodbye 2015 and hello 2016.

There are so many things that transpired in 2015 that it’s impossible to list them all.  From celebrating births and marriages to mourning those lost.  The year 2015 was like an epic roller coaster full of twists and turns.

I was ready to write something cheerful and giddy about 2016 this morning.  After all, I watched my Crimson Tide demolish Michigan State last night in the Cotton Bowl.  I knew that Alabama was going to win last night because I didn’t have a child last year while they were playing in the Sugar Bowl.  I had also watched my three children enjoying themselves through Christmas and into the New Year.  The youngest is walking now, and he’s doing everything he can to keep up with his sisters.

Then, I read where Natalie Cole passed away today at the age of 65 and Wayne Rogers passed yesterday at 82.  My giddiness turned solemn as I thought about all the people lost in 2015.  Whether through natural causes, in acts of terrorism, or under suspicious circumstances, we’ve collectively gone through a lot over the past year.

Some people love to make resolutions, but I’m not one of them.  I’ve never been one to make New Year’s resolutions because I’ve seen where most people don’t keep them beyond February.  While reflecting on things, I did have an epiphany of sorts if you want to call it that.  It’s not a resolution as much as it is a revelation and/or evolution.

This year, I am going to try to refrain from using the word assimilate.  Not that I think there’s anything wrong with it per se, but reflecting on the things that make us who we are made me realize that it’s impossible to assimilate in America.  This is a country that celebrates St. Patrick’s Day (Irish) as though it originated here.  We celebrate Cinco de Mayo in the same manner.

How can you assimilate into a society that is multi-faceted and multi-cultural?  What do you choose to conform to and what do you reject?  The thing that makes America so great is that we can all be singularly different yet all be of one identity at the same time.

From this day forward, I will reject the notion of people having to conform to one singular standard.  I will be accepting of everyone whether they are single/married, gay/straight, Black/White/Asian/Native, Christian/Muslim/Jewish/Hindu/Sikh or any other label that society applies to an individual or group to segregate them from everyone else.  It’s not as much as a person having to change to fit into the group in my view.  It’s all about the group accepting the person for who they are instead of what they want that person to be.

Here’s to you 2016.  I’m going to do what I can to change the world.

8 thoughts on “Welcome 2016

  1. ” accepting of everyone whether they are single/married, gay/straight, Black/White/Asian/Native, Christian/Muslim/Jewish/Hindu/Sikh or any other label that society applies to an individual or group to segregate them from everyone else.”
    I can live with that but I will draw the line when it comes to cons and neo-cons. Can’t accept these yahoos.

    Like

    • I’ll still accept them for who they are. I may not agree with their thoughts, beliefs, or actions, but I will still respect their rights to be who they are.
      That said, I won’t vote to give anyone political power or position if I think their ideas are not what this country needs from its leadership.

      Like

Leave a Reply

