Press conference of the year

h/t to Mashable for the photo!!

Somehow, I missed the press conference of the year.

Was it Obama talking immigration?  No.  Boehner on Israel?  Not even close.

The press conference of the year was all about balls.  Big, brown balls that are being squeezed, rubbed, and played with in all other kinds of manners by grown men.

‘I don’t want anyone touching my balls after that. I don’t want anyone rubbing them, you know, putting any air in them, taking any air out. To me, those balls are perfect and that’s what I expect when I show up on the field.’–Tom Brady as reported by Daily Mail

I don’t want to stand between any man and his perfect balls.  If he doesn’t want anyone touching his balls after he’s got them just the way he likes them, you can’t get mad at him for being overly protective of his balls.  And, according to Brady, everyone has their own preferences.

‘Everybody has a preference. Some guys like them round. Some guys like them thin. Some guys like them tacky. Some guys like them brand new. Some guys like old balls,’ he explained.

Mashable posted a list of his 8 greatest quotes on balls, and the teenager in me couldn’t get through half the list without bowling over in laughter.  I would love to meet him now just so I can ask him if he has ever heard of the term “double entendre.”  For example, it’s hard to top the quote they rank as number one…  “They also know how I like the balls and I tell them how great they are.”  Priceless!!!

Thanks for the laugh Tom.  I don’t think people will ever look at you playing with your balls in the same light anymore.

One for the road…

5 thoughts on “Press conference of the year

    • Every now and then, I have to let the child out. If not, he wreaks havoc at the most inopportune times. LOL!!

      I had tears in my eyes from reading some of the tweets in response to what he said. I may end up having to get me a Twitter account because there are some funny individuals around the world.

      Like

  1. In spite of all the levity, the NFL has a serious problem here. For any sport, if the integrity of the contests comes into question, that sport is in trouble.

    The big question is why does the NFL have a policy of each team taking care of their own footballs on the sidelines (that’s just asking for trouble)?

    Given all the other problems the NFL has had of late, this is just another leak in the boat. It may take a decade or two but I believe the NFL has peaked and is circling the drain.

    Much like NASCAR, the NFL now has people running it who know how to make money but really don’t understand the sport or its legion of followers. NASCAR has pretty well killed their goose that laid the golden egg and the NFL seems to be following suit. Knowing how to make money is fine but if you don’t please the people who drive your sport, you won’t be making money long.

    And knowing what control freaks head football coaches are (especially Belichik), there’s no way in hell he didn’t know what was going on.

    Of course, whatever action Goodell takes will be done after the Super Bowl and my guess is, the equipment manager will take the fall and Belichek and Co. will go right on doing what they do……..until the next time they get caught.

    Like

  2. The irony of all this is that Brady sure seemed confident after the Ravens game when there was the issue about the play where it looked like the Pats lined up incorrectly but in fact they were in a legal formation.
    He said something along the lines of “Study the rules……”. He didn’t have that same confidence and swagger when questioned about the deflated footballs.
    I don’t think Brady will get much of anything in terms of a fine, maybe the team or coach, but I do think he and others knew exactly what transpired and they were good with it until they were caught. With that said I do think the Pats would have still won the game and are a better team but they were looking for an advantage. And it isn’t like they don’t already have a track record of “looking for advantages” (cheating).
    I could be wrong but I’m think the penalty will be minor. Not because the Patriots weren’t knowingly cheating but because the NFL doesn’t want too much tarnish on the Super Bowl especially if the Patriots win.

    Like

Leave a Reply

