Apology to Coach Saban and the Crimson Tide Nation

We won’t get to show this one off in Walmart thanks to me.

Last night’s loss wasn’t fun to watch.  I had faith that the Crimson Tide would win the game until I came to a realization during the 2nd quarter.  That realization is why I think I owe everyone an apology, and here’s why.

In 2008, my wife and I welcomed our first child into the world.  My daughter and I watched football all fall and cheered for the Tide all they way until January 1st.  The bowl game that year was the Sugar Bowl, and the Tide lost to the Utah Utes 31-17.

I didn’t think anything about the loss that year other than it was not the way that I wanted to see the season end.  The next year, we came back and won the first of 3 national titles in 4 years.  All was well once again in the world, and things were as they should be.

The 2013 season saw us lose to Auburn with the field goal attempt returned for at touchdown at the very end of the Iron Bowl.  That loss ended our attempt at trying to win three championships in a row, but we still got an invite to the Sugar Bowl.  Early in 2013, my wife and I welcomed our second child into the world, and she watched football alongside daddy all fall just as the first daughter did.  We are a football family, and Saturday and Sunday means football in our home.  On January 1, 2014, the Tide lost to Oklahoma, giving us two losses to end the season just as we did in 2008.

I was thinking that the 2014 fall season would see us come back and win another championship just as we rebounded from the 2009 Sugar Bowl loss.  Once again, I didn’t make the connection between Alabama, the Sugar Bowl, and Brosephus.

In late 2014 with the football season in high gear, my wife and I welcomed our third child into the world.  It’s a boy!!!  He watched football between naps and feedings, and we were all stoked to watch Alabama play on January 1st in the Sugar Bowl.  This was the first year of the playoffs, and I remember watching Alabama beat Miami in the first bowl coalition championship game on that same field on January 1, 1993.  I just knew that history would repeat again with the Tide claiming another first.

Well, history did repeat again, and the Tide came up short in the Superdome, losing another Sugar Bowl.

If you haven’t noticed the connection yet, then I’ll explain why I’m apologizing.  I know who’s fault it is, and it is the fault of the wang.  Every time my wife and I welcome a child into the world, the Crimson Tide loses the Sugar Bowl.  Therefore, I apologize to the Crimson Tide Nation and Coach Saban for not realizing the power I contain within my loins.  Now that I understand this power, I will use it for good and not for evil.  I will retire the wang and not cause any further Sugar Bowl losses.

My bad…

5 thoughts on “Apology to Coach Saban and the Crimson Tide Nation

  1. I will retire the wang and not cause any further Sugar Bowl losses.
    Black Snake Moan.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    At the next beer summit, remind me to share a story about a certain exurban metro Atlanta board of commissioners and a hilarious quote from former chairman Charles Laughinghouse.

    Like

    • I will do so. When I pointed out this “fact” to my wife last night during the game, she laughed at it herself.

      We have friends in Ohio who are OSU fans, and they found it funny too. My wife and her friend both came to the conclusion that, because of this “fact”, the third child is definitely the last addition to the family. 🙂

      Like

  2. I think you’re being a bit hard on yourself (no pun intended). And this is coming from somebody who once watched one of my friends shoot a potato gun at an OSU fan, just because he was being obnoxious.

    Two points to ponder:

    “I’d rather be lucky than good”. Richard Petty

    “You make your own luck”. David Pearson

    Like

    • Excellent quotes, and I’ll admit that I laughed hard at the first sentence.

      Our friends have all shared laughs with us about this, and I’ll probably be laughing about it for a while.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Welcome 2016 | The Mind of Brosephus

Leave a Reply

