Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas to all who celebrate Christmas.  Happy Holidays to all!!!

There’s nothing like watching the excitement on your kids’ faces as they tear through paper like Taz from the Bugs Bunny cartoons.

I couldn’t be with all my family at home in Alabama, but that won’t stop me from enjoying my kid’s excitement as well as listening to some blues.  That was one thing I enjoyed about living in Montgomery, and I miss that Saturday morning “house cleaning” music.

One of my favorite Christmas songs has very little to do with Christmas.  Back Door Santa was written and performed by Clarence Carter long before I was born.  It’s been remade and sampled by numerous artists, including Run DMC’s Christmas in Hollis.  I found the version posted above by the Black Crowes, and it’s just as good as the original all the way to the horns.  They really put their foot into that one.  I may have to go back and add it to my mp3 list for next year.

Hope everyone’s safe, warm, and happy today!!

8 thoughts on “Merry Christmas

  1. Merry Christmas to you.

    A fireman friend of mine once made a call at Clarence Carter’s house. Said he was as a nice a man as you’d ever meet.

    Like

    • Seems like he’d be a pretty cool guy. Missed out on a chance to see him perform a ways back. I still kick myself from having to miss that concert, but I had pressing issues that had to be addressed.

      Hope your day was a blessed one!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

