Tactical Santa returns

From WSB-TV Atlanta:

SANDY SPRINGS, Ga. —

Families will be able to snap a photo with Santa Claus and a firearm of their choice at a Sandy Springs gun range Saturday.

Sandy Springs Gun Club and Range will host the event where families can pose with Saint Nick and their choice of an AK-47, AR-15 or FN-SCAR-17.

Gun range co-owner Robyn Workman Marzullo said they have already gotten positive feedback from customers about the upcoming event.

“It’s not trying to send a message,” said Marzullo. “It’s just about having a good time, getting into the holiday spirit and giving back to the community.”

Families are encouraged to bring canned food to the event. All donations will benefit the Sandy Springs Community Assistance Center.

I like guns, I like Santa, and I like helping worthy causes.  That said, I don’t know if I’d let my kids pose with Santa holding an AK-47, AR-15 or FN-SCAR-17 in that photo.  Besides the fact that my oldest child is only 6 and is not allowed to put her hands on a gun, the idea seems to be one that leads to those family photos that people end up laughing at later on in my view.  I refuse to let my family become an internet meme.

This place isn’t the first to do such an event either.  Doing a search on Google to find the news article, several different articles came up of a shop in Arizona doing the same thing back in 2011.   The funniest thing I found is that searching for Tactical Santa returned this image amongst others:

Now, that’s not the guy that was pictured coming down the chimney when I was growing up.  If this Santa were coming down the chimney in the middle of the night, I wouldn’t suspect him of dropping off presents more than I’d expect him to be taking presents with him.  Then again, I grew up in the “hood”, and armed intruders in the middle of the night were not considered “friendlies”.

If guns are your thing, you’ll like this event.  I hope that Sandy Springs Gun Club and Range get a good turnout to help the food drive.  I’ve already taken the little ones to see Santa.  The Santa we visit doesn’t pack heat, unless he has some hot chocolate.

8 thoughts on “Tactical Santa returns

  1. Yes, toys & helping fellow humans, but NEVER guns! Here’s a feel good story I hope you saw – can’t remember where it happened. A woman was apprehended stealing a dozen eggs. Then the cop who came to arrest her paid for the eggs. NICE!!!

    Like

    • We never got them for Christmas. They were usually birthday presents when the grownups thought we were old enough to respect them.

      There’s a difference between rural and city living just as there’s a difference between the ethnic groups. I’m certain there are some who differ from me and my experience.

      Like

  2. Back in the 1940’s, my sibs & I got cap guns & other “cowboy” gear for XMAS. I’d like to think we have come a long way since then. And I guess we have; now some of the kids get REAL guns.

    Like

    • I used to have to play with my cousin’s toy guns. My grandmother didn’t want us to play with them. We had to keep them out of sight when she was around. When we were older, she mellowed out.

      We were allowed to shoot real guns if we were with grownups though. My uncle, who was a Marine, is pretty much responsible for me being as good of a shooter that I am today.

      Like

Leave a Reply

