I think I have my New Year’s resolution for 2015

On Sunday afternoon, Chris Kimbrough, a 44-year-old mother of six, shattered the women’s beer mile world record by 13 seconds, running 6:28.6 in her first attempt at the event. The previous record was held by Seanna Robinson, who ran 6:42.0 in 1997.

Beer mile records are not recognized by USATF or the IAAF, of course, but they are tracked at BeerMile.com, where a list of widely used rules can be found. The general idea is that competitors drink a beer, run a lap, and repeat the sequence three times.

The beer mile originated in Canada in 1989, and for a while, was mostly run by college-aged males looking for some fun. But with several high-profile record attempts in recent years, combined with Flocasts putting on its first Beer Mile World Championship in Austin, Texas, on December 3, the event has become more popular than ever.

Source: Runners World

The first question I had was why am I just now hearing of this?  This sounds like something that Brosephus can get behind.  Running a mile isn’t too bad on the knees, and then I get to drink beer while I’m running?  This should be an Olympic event!!

They even have “official” rules to follow if you’re doing it for a record attempt or something.  I guess I’ll take a few Warsteiner Dunkels that I have and go to the park for a quick run through.

3 thoughts on “I think I have my New Year’s resolution for 2015

Leave a Reply

