Democrats have jello spines

Yesterday saw a whipping that made Adrian Peterson wince.  Ok, maybe that wasn’t right, but the Dems got waxed off at the polls without the common courtesy of a wax on.

I’ve been laid up on sinus meds, so I could hear the pundits all talking nonsense about the election.  My assessment can be summed up in one sentence.  The Democratic Party has the collective spine of a bowl of jello.

They ran from Obama like politicians running from a whore house.  They let the Republican party control the message throughout the entire campaign.  It basically looked like the Democratic Party tried to run a two-minute offense with only a center, quarterback, and a single receiver.  I think the Stay Puft Marshmallow Man has more testicular fortitude at getting his thoughts, ideas, and beliefs across when compared to the entire Democratic Party apparatus.

One thing I realized with this election is that I’m tired as hell of politics and politicians.  More than anything else, I’m tired of my fellow Americans who allow this crap to continue like this.  I saw these notes from a Yahoo article that talked about preliminary exit polling, and it really makes me wonder if anybody takes voting seriously, or is it just an exercise in picking the opposite party every two years.

4. 53 percent have an unfavorable view of the Democratic Party and 56 percent have an unfavorable view of the Republican party.

5. 53 percent say the government is doing too many things better left to businesses and individuals.

6. 54 percent of voters disapprove of Barack Obama’s job performance as president and 61 percent are dissatisfied or even angry with the Republican leaders in Congress.

7. Seven in 10 voters say the nation’s economy is in bad shape, fewer than in 2012, 2010 and 2008 — but still seven in 10.

Source: Yahoo

So, if I read this right, the Democrats are favored more than Republicans, Obama has a better disapproval rating that Republican leaders in Congress, more people think the economy is better now than it was in previous elections, but the voters that went to the polls thought that Republicans were the better option?  If these numbers don’t show how weak and ineffective the Democratic Party is, then I’m not a middle-aged Black man raising a family in the South.

I wrote that I loathe some things about the current GOP, but I do have to say congratulations to them anyway.  They tapped in to the fears or concerns of people and got them to vote them into office.  Kudos to Tim Scott who became the first Black Senator elected in a Southern state since Reconstruction.  The only party that has elected Black Senators in the South to date has been the Republican Party, so I’m interested to see how they work with Scott.  As the party is far more conservative than it was when Hiram Revels was elected right after the Civil War, I’m also interested to see how welcoming all conservatives are towards him.  Mia Love of Utah also became the first Black Republican woman elected to the House of Representatives, so I tip my cap to her.

Can we get off the seesaw long enough to allow one group the opportunity to straighten things out?  I don’t see anytime in the near future where both parties are going to work together.

I’m glad the Republicans won majorities because they have to govern now.  Show us what conservatism does for America.  The last time the GOP had control over most of the government, we were losing hundreds of thousands of jobs every month.  We’ve had slow, anemic growth under Obama and the Democrats, but we’ve had growth.  I’m waiting to see what the GOP has in store for me.  I’ve already seen what the Democrats could do, and I only wish they had the testicular fortitude to stand behind what they’ve done.  I’ve only seen spineless slinking away from the tough road and battles thus far, and I’m one that likes to have leaders with a spine.

 

8 thoughts on “Democrats have jello spines

  1. You’re absolutely right. Dems let the GOP control the message — Obama is the most unpopular president since George Bush — rather than blowing their own horn over things they and he have accomplished that should be legitimate sources of pride.

    A friend wrote on Facebook:

    So voters want a higher minimum wage, legal pot, gay marriage, abortion access and GOP representation.

    Liked by 1 person

    • When you look at the disapproval rates of Republicans in Congress being lower than Democrats in Congress, there’s no way the Republicans should have beat the Dems like they did. Democratic Party initiatives passed on the state level in many states, and those states also backed Republicans.

      I saw something earlier that summed it up very well. It was something to the effect that people want higher wages, insurance coverage, a better social safety net, and Republicans to represent them. If people can’t look at that and find the conundrum, then we’re f**ked up beyond any repair.

      Like

      • The GOP is supposed to be the party of money. Voters somehow imagine that voting for Republicans will mean more money for them. Republicans are good at this sh*t; if we just put them in charge, they’ll cut taxes and make the business climate SO good we’ll all get $100K-and-up jobs.

        Republicans certainly do nothing to disabuse the voters of that notion.

        Meanwhile, most of the Dem agenda is aimed at helping people in specific circumstances. Unemployment insurance is fine for people who are out of work (until someone is out of work and sees how little it is) but at any given time it’s only helping a tiny sliver of the population. Medicare and Social Security are things we can all look forward to, but you have to work for a very long time to get there, and then politicians try to make you afraid they’ll end just before you qualify. Obamacare really only helps those who can’t get health insurance. For the great majority of people, it really only makes life seem more complicated. Abortion access? Men don’t need it at all and most women don’t most of the time. Climate change? Most voters don’t think they’ll ever see a change no matter which way it goes. Education? Been seriously off the rails for a long time and no one (including me) thinks government is going to be able to fix it. Most of us will never experience the justice system. It’s hard for the great middle of the country to see that they will gain anything — especially financially — by voting Dem.

        Like

        • You speak the truth.

          I guess that the easiest way to sum it up is by going right, the GOP has focused the sights and trajectory of their party. There’s no need to try to be all to everyone. On the opposite side, the Democratic Party has to try to pacify everyone without alienating anyone. As you pointed out, it’s hard to sell someone on a policy that doesn’t affect them.

          If this election has shown me anything, it’s that we are in desperate need for alternatives to the major parties. The Dems need to move left to allow for a third centrist party, or the liberals need to break from the Dems and do their policy under a new party.

          Like

    • I usually wouldn’t approve such a comment because I hate that kool-aid analogy, but please explain to me what I’m supposed to research?

      You felt compelled to respond to my post, so I would like to know what I need to research. Maybe I can even do a follow up this weekend with my new knowledge.

      Like

Leave a Reply

