This ain’t Reading Rainbow (And it is soooo NSFW too!!!)

LeVar Burton, host of PBS’s Reading Rainbow, got in touch with his inner Samuel L. Jackson for a charity event over the weekend.  At the Rooster Teeth’s Extra Life charity telethon, Burton did a reading of the popular adult bedtime book Go the F**k to Sleep for an attentive group of adults that were all seated before him.

This is one of my all-time favorite audio books.  I grew up watching Burton, first in the mini-series Roots, and then on PBS.  I give him props for taking on such a monumental challenge in reading that book.

Why is reading this book a monumental task?  Only because the audio book was narrated by the above mentioned Samuel L. Jackson.  If you’ve never heard his version, it is a classic.  Most parents will probably get the story and laugh along with it.  New parents will likely not understand the joke, but given time, they’ll laugh right along with it.

Here’s the original audio version for you to compare if you wish.  Who’s version is better, Burton or Jackson?

Searching YouTube, there’s even a Morgan Freeman impersonator reading this book.  It would be quite interesting to actually get him to read this one too.

Here’s one other interesting thing I found while surfing the Net for this post.  The author of Go the F**k to Sleep, Adam Mansbach, has a new book that’s coming out on November 12th.  It’s already available for pre-order, and I may have to get my copy now.  Titled, You Have to F**king Eat, it will undoubtedly be a smashing sequel to his book about going to sleep.  I’m sensing that he may end up with a self-help series for parenting at some point.  I can’t wait to get my hands on this one as I know it will be just as funny as the original, especially based on this sample page.

2 thoughts on “This ain’t Reading Rainbow (And it is soooo NSFW too!!!)

  1. Jackson’s is better, probably because he wasn’t doing it cold. Clearly Burton was reading it for the first time. Burton’s a fine actor, but most things are better with a little preparation.

    I laughed myself sick the first time I read this. One of my favorite Christmas gifts that year was an autographed copy of the book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

