What would you do?

Scenario #1

 

Scenario #2

Both of these videos are ads for LG products.  I don’t think they can accurately reproduce the depth perception to fool a person into thinking they are actually looking through a window, but it does make for funny videos.  Every time I watch that first one, I get a good laugh even though I know they are actors.

So, to answer my own question, I’d go buy me a TV if the picture quality were truly that realistic.  Until that happens, I’ll save a few dollars and keep watching what I currently have at home.

 

2 thoughts on “What would you do?

  1. The second one is nothing I ever have to worry about.

    The first one is gonna give me nightmares. When I was a kid, we lived under a constant threat of nuclear war. The government set up fallout shelters, interior rooms mostly in the basements of schools, churches, and big government buildings. My family lived on a dirt road way out in the sticks. There was no shelter anywhere near us. One day I talked to my dad to find out what shelter he and mom would take us to. Evidently he had no idea how much this bothered me, because he laughed and let me know making such a plan was nowhere on his to-do list. He didn’t think a shelter would do any good anyway and he didn’t think surviving in a post-nuclear world was anything to aspire to.

    Because I was a powerless elementary school child, I began having nightmares in which I’m standing somewhere with a wide vista, often on a hill. I can see the city in the distance and somehow I know my friends and family are all there. As I watch, a missile comes in over the city. I know it’s the start of a nuclear attack, I know everyone is going to die, and I know there’s nothing I can do about it. I wake up terrified, often gasping for breath, sometimes leaping out of bed.

    Although I have other nightmares, that’s the only one that’s consistent. It’s my mind’s symbol for a bad situation over which I have minimal control.

    Like

    • That’s a bad nightmare to have. I came along after you, but I remember the TV miniseries The Day After where the US got nuked and the people in Lawrence, Kansas were trying to survive. That gave me nightmares for a while. It didn’t help that my neighborhood had a munitions manufacturer right next door, and we were sitting between Redstone Arsenal and the Anniston Munitions Depot in Alabama.

      Like

Leave a Reply

