Going out on a “high” note (NSFW language!!!)

Charlo Greene former anchor at CBS affiliate KTVA-11 Anchorage, Alaska

Charlo Greene former anchor at CBS affiliate KTVA-11 Anchorage, Alaska

If Charlo Greene wasn’t a household name before, she will likely become one in a while.  She was a reporter with CBS affiliate KTVA in Anchorage, Alaska.  I said was, because she literally sent her television news career up in smoke after reporting on the battle of legalizing marijuana in Alaska.

After reporting on the ballot initiate fight for medical marijuana and one particular group involved in that fight, the Alaska Cannabis Club, Greene revealed herself to be the owner of that club and signed off for the very last time in her career with KTVA with the following announcement:

“Now everything you’ve heard is why I, the actual owner of the Alaska Cannabis Club, will be dedicating all of my energy toward fighting for freedom and fairness, which begins with legalizing marijuana here in Alaska.  And as for this job, well — not that I have a choice but, f*ck it, I quit.”

Based on her performance, she’s likely done with local TV altogether.  There’s probably still room for cable though.  I’d also suggest that her choice of words reveal that she may have already had a discussion about this to some extent with her employer.  If she hadn’t discussed it, there may have been reason to believe that she would no longer be employed if she had acknowledged her ownership of the group.

She later appeared in a video on YouTube where she explained her actions.  In the video, Greene starts off with, “There comes a time in each and every one of our lives when we must choose to continue to spectate or stand up for what’s right.”

I don’t disagree with the sentiment about standing up for what you feel is right.  I just don’t think I pack the testicular fortitude to do it with such conviction.  I’m not sure if I could drop the F-bomb on a live broadcast, but different people handle themselves in different manners.  I hope for the best for you Ms. Greene.

I must include that I am not endorsing the use of marijuana here as it is illegal to do so in Georgia where I reside.  Based on the research done, I think there is some benefit to medical marijuana, and I’m not sure why the US government has decided on the pathway we’re on.  Other countries, such as Israel, have not only researched the use of marijuana for medical purposes, they have also gone as far as growing varieties low in THC and high in cannabinoids, the ingredient that has been shown to help ailments such as seizures.

If the government, through legislation or by popular vote, decides to enact medical marijuana, then I will support that decision just as I have to support the laws as written today.

6 thoughts on “Going out on a “high” note (NSFW language!!!)

  1. Like I always told my kids about situations like that: don’t burn any bridges, and sure as heck don’t call in any airstrikes on the opportunities that may be just down the road.

    She did both.

    Brosephus, I’d also say people can do different things based upon whether or not they’re single, with no one depending on them, or if one’s a spouse or a parent with all that implies.

    Like

  2. Her stand on pot matters not to me. But the fact that she had the courage to stand up for what she believes matters a LOT! Good for you, young woman!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

