Celebrity leaked photos

Maybe it’s just me, but I don’t get overly excited about the “latest” photo leak scandals.  Maybe it’s because I relish privacy and wouldn’t want mine invaded.  It could also be because I don’t have a reasonable expectation of privacy for anything posted on the internet, whether intentional or inadvertently.

That said, it doesn’t matter whether it was Jennifer Lawrence, Jill Scott, Kim Kardashian, or Gabrielle Union that had nude photos leaked, I don’t condone it nor do I want others leaked.  I understand that grown people should be able to do as they please with consenting adults or alone if it’s legal.  However, don’t get so caught up in technology that you fail to secure things for yourself.  Don’t rely on others to secure your data (photos) for you.

If it’s so important to take that nude photo for your significant other, then go old school with a Polaroid Instamatic to alleviate any fears of a hacker getting your information.  That sucker may be old school, but it is hack proof.  It takes a bit more effort and planning, but you don’t have to worry about your ta-tas ending up on the internet for everyone to see.  You might lose the spontaneity of sending a “reminder” of what awaits your significant other upon your/their return home, but you will gain the satisfaction of knowing your photo can’t be hacked.

Don’t let me ruin someone’s freak-a-deak moment.  That’s not my intent.  Just be a bit more security minded when trying to get your freak on.  Contrary to popular belief, not all of us want to see y’all naked.

9 thoughts on “Celebrity leaked photos

  1. I understand these photos had been deleted by their owners from their cell phones, but still resided on the cloud servers. That right there makes me not too confident in the security of such services, whether for personal information or proprietary information.

    Like

    • I don’t trust them as I don’t think there’s a way to completely delete anything that’s been stored electronically. When someone can take a damaged hard drive and still pull data from it, I doubt any cloud storage is ever wiped clean. There’s always a back-up copy of something somewhere.

      I have a smartphone, and the stuff I keep on it wouldn’t scare me if my phone was hacked. I’m kinda old-school pen and paper when it comes to that stuff.

      Like

      • I’m an IT professional, and while I’m not at liberty to give a lot of details, I can say that I’ve either been employed by or fulfilled contracts from some of the biggest corporations in the US and the world. About ten years ago, I was invited to join an ‘advisory council’ that (while I didn’t know it at first) was actually a marketing focus group for cloud services.

        It became pretty obvious early on that the folks behind the curtain (I always suspected companies like IBM, Microsoft, Cisco, Oracle, etc) were deeply interested in how to present and position cloud services in order to sell them to data-heavy companies like banks, insurers, etc. I often — and I’m sure other participants did as well — pointed out that my greatest resistance to advocating cloud services to my employer and clients centered on the *insecurity* of cloud services. In return, we’d get asked more questions about what sort of technological bells and whistles would change our minds.

        Now, I’m not saying that cloud services will *never* be secure. I’m just saying that in my mind, as of right now, they’re not secure *enough.* There are plenty of companies (Home Depot, anyone?) who don’t take point-of-sale security seriously enough, so I’m certainly not going to trust them with an even stiffer security challenge. AFAICS, the folks who are selling cloud services are more interested in selling them than in securing them, so I just can’t recommend them in good conscience.

        Like

        • Thanks for the insight. I’ve heard similar from people that I’ve spoken with off the record. I don’t have much faith in security because I know that if code is written for security, then there is the ability to alter that code if you have the time and expertise.

          Like

          • There was one client I worked for in Washington — they weren’t part of the Federal government, but it has a nickname that everyone here would recognize instantly — that began to roll out biometric scanners as part of their system logon hardware just as I was finishing up an extended contract with them.

            Biometric scanners? What’s that? Well, they were FINGERPRINT scanners, about the size of a pack of smokes, and they were being implemented at all levels of the organization as part of the standard logon procedure. In other words, you’d have to scan your fingerprint as part of logging in to the computer system each day. I balked, because I had no interest in allowing this outfit to have my fingerprints on file, and I told them so. They claimed “Well, we’re not really capturing your fingerprint. We’re capturing 17 parameters of your fingerprint that allow us to distinguish it from anyone else’s.”

            I replied that if 17 parameters was all they needed to verify my identity, then someone with malicious intent could take those same parameters and *pose* as me if the organization captured and stored them as data.

            Not possible, they claimed.

            Prove it, I demanded.

            They couldn’t. So they didn’t get my fingerprints, and I completed the project and rolled off on schedule. It was clearly easier to let me finish the last six weeks of the contract without the fingerprint scanner than it was to renegotiate my contract at that point.

            Takeaway lesson: Nekkid pix of yourself on the Internet = bad. Your fingerprints on the internet = way, way worse.

            Like

  2. Just for the record, there are no nekkid pics of me on the Internet or anywhere else (thought I’d save y’all the search time 😆 )

    Should these people’s photos have been hacked? No. Would a reasonable person think that things on the Internet or in the Cloud are safe? No.

    Sometimes, folks catch hell because they are chasing it.

    I remember in one of the scandals many years ago, the late Lewis Grizzard said something along the lines of “Nineteen years old is plenty old enough to know not to let people take pictures of you with your britches off”.

    Sound advice from ol’ Lewis.

    Like

    • Lewis was a man who was wise far beyond what people gave him credit for. I loved reading his columns.

      For the record, there are no photos of me either. I may decide to run for office when I get older and wiser.

      Like

    • Lewis’ best advice, IMO, was his favorite meal: “country fried steak smothered in sawmill gravy, creamed potatoes, butter beans, squash, spring onions, thinly sliced tomatoes, and unsweetened ice tea.”

      Like

Leave a Reply

