Thanks for the memories

As a lifelong Atlanta Braves fan, I want to say “Thank you!”

People talk about the lack of World Series wins through the 90s, but those consecutive pennants were more than enough to erase the sting of the 1980s losses.  I didn’t get to watch the ceremony yesterday, but I did record it to watch when I have the time.  Being at the stadium Saturday night brought back many memories from the 80s and 90s.  I still miss Fulton County Stadium, and I’m gonna miss watching you guys play.  You deserve to be in Cooperstown, and now I have a very good reason to travel there.

Bobby Cox, without you, none of the 90s would have likely happened.  It takes a good skipper to put things together, and you did one hell of a job.

Tom Glavine, I remember the 1991 “Worst to First” team and the role you played.  That was your first 20 win season, and that year made it great to be a Braves fan again.

Greg Maddux, when you joined the team, it was like the missing cog to the entire machine.  With the three aces in place, there was no more of a formidable pitching rotation anywhere, and likely something that we’ll never see again.

Thank you guys…  For everything.

 

6 thoughts on “Thanks for the memories

  1. Started watching baseball over 50 years ago. I don’t know if Greg Maddux is the best starting pitcher I ever saw or not but he’s certainly in the discussion.

    If I heard right, he’s the only pitcher with 300 wins, 3000 Ks and less than 1000 BBs. The most impressive part of that is the BBs. Maddux was one of a dying breed; he was a pitcher not a thrower.

    Like

Leave a Reply

