Georgia and guns

Governor Deal signed HB60, also known as the “guns everywhere” bill, into law today.  I hope it doesn’t lead us down a path of destruction, and I hope the negative aspects that have been talked about don’t happen.

Don’t get it wrong, I have no problem with guns.  I have no problem with gun ownership.  That said, if you feel that you have to carry a gun with you EVERYWHERE and at all times, either you are a personal bodyguard, law enforcement, or you really need to reconsider where you hang out.

I’m licensed to carry concealed, and I don’t carry much.  Mostly because I don’t travel to places where I feel threatened enough to need a gun but also because I believe in those who are sworn law enforcement officers.  I know enough that, if someone gets the jump on me, action is always faster than reaction.  If I have a concealed gun in my waistline, it does no good when someone comes up from behind and puts a barrel to the back of my head.  I know the difference between Hollywood and real life, and you don’t get to yell “Cut” and ask for a re-take in real life.

I can’t speak for others, but if you feel that you need to carry a concealed gun to church, you may want to consider finding a new church or even a new religion.  Likewise for bars, I don’t know of anybody who would think that alcohol and guns go hand in hand like peanut butter and jelly.

What I glean from things like this is that there are people who are scared to death and have no faith in law enforcement.  There are people who are paid to deal with bad situations, and they constantly train and retrain to deal with them.  How many conceal-carry gun owners go through active shooter training?  How many conceal-carry gun owners train on weapon retention?  How many cities, counties, or states even require or recommend such training?

I understand the love of the 2nd Amendment.  With rights come responsibilities, and I don’t see responsibility being legislated here.  As I lay my head down tonight, I will pray for my fellow residents of Georgia that no innocent people are hurt or killed by somebody’s decision to try to play John Wayne.  We already have enough senseless death and injury in this country.  There’s no need to try to set a new high score.

Enhanced by Zemanta
8 thoughts on “Georgia and guns

  1. I actually think both sides are over-blowing this thing. I used to have a carry permit but it lapsed and I never have gone and renewed (probably will eventually), If a person owns a store, bar whatever, and doesn’t want guns in their place of business, it’s my understanding that they have the right not to allow them in under this law.

    As for churches, I’m a Baptist and each Baptist church is autonomous. It’s up to the congregation to vote yea or nay and that’s fine in my view for every other house of worship, as well. If the people of a church don’t want them in their church, just say so.

    The thing being missed here is that it’s only legal for those with a carry permit. The percentage of carry permit holders that are ever involved in a crime is way below 1%. You really have little to fear from a permit holder. The people you have to worry about are those without the permit. They don’t much care about the law one way or another and their behavior isn’t going to change for the worse or the better by this law or any other law. If they are inclined to carry into a place, they are probably doing it now.

    This thing won’t change my life, one way or the other.

    Like

  2. Bro, as usual, great piece. I, like you, own fire arms. I have a 12 gauge for the house and a 40cal that I keep in the truck. I don’t carry. Never felt the need to.

    This law is stupid, but will have little effect on most people.

    Off topic: it’s getting close to beer:30. You and TBS wanna meet up sometime over the next couple weeks? My phone committed suicide, and I lost the numbers.

    Like

    • I don’t have a problem with concealed carry. My only concern about guns period is training and security. Too many kids are shooting themselves with guns found laying around unsecured. The first priority for a responsible gun owner, in my opinion, is keeping the gun out of the hands of anyone but whoever the owner personally hands it to.

      As for concealed carry, action is always faster than reaction. Unless you can safely draw and engage the threat, you’re introducing another weapon into the confrontation. If you’re not trained in how to maintain and defend your gun in a hands on fight, you may as well give the gun to the bad guy if he got the drop on you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

