R.I.P. Warrior

Man, I remember when hearing that music meant one thing and one thing only, the Ultimate Warrior was on his way to the ring to wreck mayhem on whomever he was facing.  There was something about that music combined with him sprinting to the ring like a madman and shaking the hell out of the ropes once he got into the ring that made the kid Brosephus go completely nuts.

Yes, I know that wrestling is scripted, and I have known that since I was much younger.  That still didn’t take away the entertainment aspect of turning on the TV on a Saturday afternoon and watching Georgia Championship Wrestling or any one of the other wrestling programs that were on back in the day.  During the course of my life, I’ve had the pleasure of meeting quite a few wrestlers, as many of them lived at one time or another in the Atlanta area.  For those who think it’s all fake, a conversation with those guys in regards to the injuries and abuse they’ve put their bodies through is proof that it’s not all fake.

The younger Brosephus inside of me shed a tear this morning.  I found out that the Ultimate Warrior collapsed and died in Arizona.  This happened after he was just inducted into the World Wrestling Entertainment’s Hall of Fame this past weekend.  At 54, he left behind a wife and two kids.  In his last appearance on Monday Night RAW, he spoke words that, in hindsight, seemed like he was telling the world goodbye in his own way.

“No WWE talent becomes a legend on their own.  Every man’s heart one day beats its final beat. His lungs breathe their final breath. And if what that man did in his life makes the blood pulse through the body of others and makes them bleed deeper in something that’s larger than life, then his essence, his spirit, will be immortalized by the storytellers — by the loyalty, by the memory of those who honor him, and make the running the man did live forever.”

Rest in peace.  Your essence and spirit will indeed live on through the storytellers.

Enhanced by Zemanta
12 thoughts on “R.I.P. Warrior

  1. Rasslin’ is either your cup of tea or it isn’t but it’s an interesting spectacle, if you ever get to see it from the 15-20 feet from the ring range. True the outcomes are scripted and they do their best to take care of each other but these guys are big and they are fast and accidents happen. Anybody who has never seen it up close would be amazed at just how much actual, heavy contact there really is.

    I was always more of a WCW, NWA fan and never cared much for Vince McMahon’s WWF/WWE, (in my opinion, he killed rasslin’ but that’s another story for another day), so although I knew who the Warrior was, I never saw him very much. I haven’t heard the cause of death but these guys put a serious toll on their bodies to entertain the masses and far too many of them die way too soon.

    Like

    • I’m with you in that I was more of a WCW and NWA fan growing up. I kinda parted ways when McMahon bought out the WCW as I don’t care for his product or his style. I’ve even had the fortune of being able to run inside a ring and do a few moves. That day was the day I realized I wasn’t going to challenge Ric Flair for the World Championship belt. 🙂

      I’d wager on heart condition as a cause. Many of those guys used steroids long before the negatives were known. Most of the early deaths have been heart related, so I wouldn’t be surprised at all by this one.

      Like

      • That would be my guess too but I hate to speculate on these kind of things.

        Years ago Daddy used to work a 2nd job at a gas station and the rasslers used to trade there (in those days they drove everywhere). He used to laugh about Buddy Colt (don’t remember his real name), who was a well-known heel of his day, and how he was nothing like his ring persona. Daddy said he was the nicest guy you’d ever want to meet. He’d see him on TV and say he couldn’t even believe it was the same guy.

        Like

        • I probably can’t go back as far as you can, but I ran into a lot of the WCW guys as recently as the late 2000s. The Iron Sheik’s daughter was killed in Riverdale a few years ago. He is nothing like his ring persona in person. I talked to Chris Benoit, his wife, and the sons not too long before he snapped.

          I struck up a bit of a friendship of sorts with Diamond Dallas Page, and I may have to do a plug for his yoga system here. He’s the reason why Jake the Snake was able to make his Hall of Fame speech last week.

          Like

  2. With both of you on the NWA and WCW…………. Never was much into it after the early 90s

    As a kid growing up in Columbus they had rasslin’ every Wednesday night at the Municipal Auditorium. I didn’t go often but went enough to have been able to see Ric Flair, Dusty Rhodes, Mr Wrestling #1 and 2, Super Star Destroyer, Anderson Bros, Ernie Ladd, Thunder Bolt Patterson, Tommy “Wildfire” Rich, Dirty Dick Slater, Andre the Giant and several more who I can’t think of at this moment. Damn, those are some killer memories.

    ” I`m Ric Flair! The Stylin`, profilin`, limousine riding, jet flying, kiss-stealing, wheelin` n` dealin` son of a gun!”

    “I’ve wined and dined with kings and queens, and I’ve slept in allies and dined on pork and beans.”
    Dusty Rhodes

    bwhahahahahhhaa

    Like

Leave a Reply

