Fracking for you, not for me

* Image from gas2.org

Energy companies have been continuously telling us how fracking is safe.  Disregard that flammable water coming from the tap.  Ignore the polluted groundwater as well.  Fracking is safe, and it’s producing great profits to line the pockets of those fortunate enough to share in the bounty.

Time and time again, energy companies have bullied and browbeat homeowners who have protested fracking projects near their homes.  I guess fracking is good when it’s done in the ‘hood.  However, when you bring your fracking projects near $5 million dollar homes, that’s where the line is drawn.

The CEO of Exxon Mobil, Rex Tillerson, is listed as a plaintiff in a court case against Bartonville Water Supply Corporation in Denton County, Texas over the construction of a water tower that may be used for storing water for fracking.

I would feel pity for the plaintiffs in this case if Mr. Tillerson’s company and others showed any concern over safety and property values to others who own property that is lower in value than theirs.  As these companies generally give people the middle finger when they protest, I say that Texans should return the favor and give these plaintiffs the finger as well.

I know it sound harsh, but I’m a firm believer in “what goes around, comes around”.  When you treat people poorly, then you should have to get a huge helping of your own medicine.  Frack the hell out of the land around them to the point where their kitchen faucet resembles a blow torch.  I would love to hear the whine about how property values are crushed because of polluted and highly flammable water in homes of the wealthy.

At least Tillerson is only suing to stop a fracking project and not offering a coupon for a free pizza and drinks because of a well blowing up in people’s backyards.  Maybe Tillerson doesn’t want to risk blowing up his home after seeing what can happen with these wells.

Enhanced by Zemanta
7 thoughts on “Fracking for you, not for me

  1. It’s the same ol’, same ol’. One set of rules for me and another set for everybody else that has always been part of human nature but seems to be running amok lately.

    I noticed in the linked article it mentioned a propane truck burning up during this. I’d imagine most of your readers are urban/suburban and don’t heat with propane. I’ve seen little mention of it in the media but it’s well known among us rural dwellers that the price of propane more than doubled from December to January, at least in this area. I’d love to see some economist give me a logical justification for that.

    Like

    • I’ve heard mention of a shortage of propane by some news outlets. I don’t know if it’s been verified or if it’s one of those profit inducing shortages because of the Winter conditions all over.

      I don’t see how we could have increased energy production being reported while also having a shortage that would lead to that huge of a price increase

      Like

  2. I’m with you on the what-goes-around-comes-around thing.

    I feel the same way about adultery scandals. When it involves someone who has always minded his or her own business, I rush to defend them. When it involves one of those hypocrites who howl about others’ sins, I rush to gather up tar and feathers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

