Government takeover of health care, Texas style

Judge orders brain-dead pregnant Texas woman be taken off life support (via Raw Story )

A judge ordered on Friday that Marlise Muñoz, who has been kept on life support despite her family’s wishes, be formally declared dead, the Dallas Morning News reported. Muñoz had already been declared brain dead after falling unconscious in November…

I had tried to avoid this topic, but it seems that the hospital involved just doesn’t seem to get the message.

FORT WORTH, Texas (AP) — Executives from a Texas hospital conferred with the county district attorney’s office Saturday to determine their next step, after a judge ordered the hospital to remove a pregnant, brain-dead woman from life support.

Officials from John Peter Smith Hospital and the Tarrant County district attorney’s office, which is representing the county-owned hospital, met to discuss Judge R. H. Wallace Jr.’s order regarding Marlise Munoz, hospital spokeswoman J.R. Labbe said. She declined to say whether a possible appeal was being discussed, but said an announcement wouldn’t come Saturday.

My question is, “what more is there to discuss?”  The lady has been determined to be brain-dead.  The family doesn’t want her hooked up to machines.  The baby has been determined to have abnormalities that would likely result in death right after birth.  Why in the hell is the government still trying to keep this woman alive?  Why is it any business of the government to do this?

I don’t like to play the ideological games, but I have no problem with pointing out problems I see.  You can’t have a party who rallies their people by claiming the opposing party has legislated a “government takeover of health care” when you’re guilty of passing legislation like this law in Texas.  I can understand the idea and emotions behind protecting a fetus from harm that’s purposefully being inflicted upon it.  However, in this particular case, both the woman and baby would have died long ago without being hooked up on machines.  Fifty years ago, their fate would have been a foregone conclusion.

If the baby were close to full term, then I could see the idea of keeping the woman on life support to allow for the birth of the child.  However, the woman told her spouse that she didn’t want to be hooked up on machines, and that is something I completely understand.  For some odd reason, the Texas legislature seems to have a difficult problem with allowing people to make choices for themselves.  Give this family their dignity back.  Allow them to grieve for their lost loved ones.  Most of all, allow them to make the decisions for themselves without the government trying to dictate what they’re supposed to do.  I thought Republicans were all about freedom and self-responsibility.  Obviously, that’s all a bag of hot air, but that doesn’t surprise me at all.  Most politicians are nothing more than bags of hot air, if they’re even worth that.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 thoughts on “Government takeover of health care, Texas style

    • I don’t think very few people see that irony as I haven’t heard any of the talking heads hit that point. Not that I really listen to them anyway, but such a statement would definitely put ripples in the water.

      Like

  1. My heart goes out to this woman’s family. It’s devastating to lose a loved one under the best of circumstances. To have that grief compounded by delaying the consolation of the funeral for months so someone can make an ideological point is just unspeakable.

    Like

    • I watched my grandmother on life support for a little more than 2 weeks. I really didn’t watch because I couldn’t stand the sight of seeing her hooked up to all that stuff. I made up my mind at that point that I don’t want to be like that. If I’m gone, then let me go in peace.

      Like

Leave a Reply

