Santa Claus is a bag of skittles

Of all things for people to get worked up about, I would think the racial makeup of Santa Claus would be at the bottom of the list.  Then again, I tend to overrate and overestimate the common sense of most people today.

Megyn Kelly started up a firestorm when she decided to let all the kids know that Santa and Jesus were both White.  My first question was, why was that even part of the news?  My next question was who cares what race Santa Claus belongs to?

As a kid, it was quite easy for me to not believe in Santa Claus for numerous  reasons, but the primary reason was the knowledge that there were very few White men who would enter my neighborhood after sunset.  The few who did were either patrolling in police cars, or they were a coach/teacher dropping off a kid at home after practice.  You couldn’t convince me that an older White man could enter houses in my neighborhood undetected, drop off things instead of taking things, and hit every house in the neighborhood without getting caught.

I can’t answer for others and how they grew up, but I saw Santa Claus as White and Black growing up.  It didn’t bother me one bit, and I didn’t pay much attention to such things growing up.  As a parent now, my daughters have taken photos with both Black and White Santa.  The school pictures are typically with a White Santa, so we take them to the mall to see a Black Santa too.  I seriously doubt that other cultures around the world all embrace the White Santa and have instead recreated him in their image as well.  That’s just human nature.

Just to show how stupid things have gotten, Neal Boortz chimed in on the radio today with the dumbest crap said yet.

“Yeah, I’m sorry, Santa Claus is white!” Boortz exclaims. “Okay? Deal with it!”

“Everything has got to be black now, it doesn’t matter what it is,” the caller laments.

“You know, I’m going to scream and complain because Martin Luther King is always portrayed as black,” Boortz quips. “It just ain’t right.”

That alone should give people the idea of how stupid this debate looks.  I imagine people around the world sit back and laugh at the stuff Americans get themselves worked up about.  Gosh, of all things, arguing about whether Santa is White or not.  Who Cares!!??  As far as I’m concerned, Santa is all races while being none at the same time.  The historical person St. Nicholas was likely a White man based on his origins.  Santa Claus, for all intents and purposes, is the commercialized entity used by merchants to hock their wares.  Santa is green if you ask them.  The way it ends up is, once you take a trip around the world, Santa resembles every color of the rainbow.  You’re more likely to find Santa in a bag of skittles than anywhere else.

 

5 thoughts on “Santa Claus is a bag of skittles

  1. You got it right, Brosephus: WHO CARES what color he is. He is a MYTH, fantasy, fairy tale. We can see him as we need to. And if memory serves, there is a Polish (?) Black Madonna – the pastor of the church I used to attend had her statue on prominent display.

    Like

    • I’ve heard reports of Madonna being portrayed differently depending on the culture as well. There’s no arguing that St. Nick is White, but Santa Claus is a completely different person now.

      Like

  2. Santa Claus, for all intents and purposes, is the commercialized entity used by merchants to hock their wares. Santa is green if you ask them.

    There’s your real answer. Other than that, I agree, who cares? He’s whatever a particular kid sees him to be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

