Update on the Renisha McBride case

I was reading information being released in Detroit regarding the shooting of Renisha McBride, and I don’t know what to believe now.  I posted on the story last week here, and in light of the most recent information that was released, I am quite interested in seeing how the investigation turns out.

From Raw Story:

“A man who fatally shot a Detroit woman who crashed her car near his Dearborn Heights home has been charged in her death.

Wayne County Prosecutor Kym Worthy said 54-year-old Theodore Wafer has been charged with second-degree murder and manslaughter in the death of 19-year-old Renisha McBride.”

Given that he wasn’t originally charged and there was no mention of charging him, I’m going to assume that the investigation brought forward information that did not look good for the defendant.  His original statement was that he thought she was trying to break into his home at 3am, and that his shotgun accidentally discharged during the course of the incident.

The autopsy done on here revealed she had a Blood Alcohol Content level of 0.218%, which is almost 3 times the legal limit imposed for driving under the influence.  At 0.218%, I would honestly be surprised if Ms. McBride was coherent and had any idea of where she was or what she was doing.  Her impairment was a likely cause of her car accident as well.  The shotgun blast actually hit her in the face, and based on the coroner’s report, the shot was not a close distance shot.  The news stories even say that Ms. McBride was shot through the closed and locked screen door of the home.

Further revelations show the homeowner may have waited up to an hour after the shooting to call 911.  If I’m in fear of my life, you better believe I’ll be on the phone with 911 while I’m dealing with whatever threat I have before me.  If I’m in my home and the house is safely locked down, I’m not going to go to the door if I feel threatened.  I will call 911 and advise them of the situation.  As I am a gun owner, I will also let them know to advise the responding officers that I am safe inside and armed.

There are ways about handling these things, and I don’t think this incident was handled in the proper manner.  I can understand that putting an untrained person into a very stressful situation can sometimes lead to disastrous results.  That’s why I am a firm believer in the idea that, if you’re going to be a responsible gun owner, then part of that responsibility is continuous training to deal with these stressful situations.  We don’t give the keys to 18-Wheelers to any Tom, Dick, or Harry without them being trained, so why should guns be any different.  I know many people don’t agree with that as they see anything getting between a man and his gun as an infringement on his rights.  However, a real man and responsible man will always be responsible regardless to whether it’s required or not.  This is another case that I’ll keep my eyes on to see the outcome.

2 thoughts on “Update on the Renisha McBride case

  1. I don’t claim to know what happened here and I’ll let the courts handle it but the first rule of firearms is you never fire unless you are sure of your target.

    It’s usually true that nothing good happens after midnight.

    • 100% agreement there. Guns don’t fire themselves without a bit of pressure on the trigger. I was always taught to never point a gun at something unless I intended to shoot it.

      Nowadays, I don’t even think the cutoff time is midnight either. That’s why I keep at home unless it’s something I really need to do. I have to get up early in the morning on most days, so I’m usually home and in lock down mode by 8pm.

Leave a Reply

