Traffic stop gone just a bit too far

I always thought that DWB (Driving While Black) was dangerous, having experienced that myself several times.  However, nothing I’ve been subjected to comes remotely close to what Timothy Young and David Eckert went through after traffic stops in Deming, New Mexico.

Mr. Eckert was stopped for allegedly not making a complete stop at a stop sign on January 2, 2013.  Once stopped, the officer thought Eckert was clenching his buttocks.  They took that as probable cause that he was smuggling narcotics and that began what had to be the worst nightmare anybody could think of from a simple traffic stop.  After detaining him, the police department obtained a search warrant from a judge that permitted an anal cavity search.

KOB4 Eyewitness News describes the different searches he underwent while in custody:

A review of Eckert’s medical records, which he released to KOB, and details in the lawsuit show the following happened:

1. Eckert’s abdominal area was x-rayed; no narcotics were found.

2. Doctors then performed an exam of Eckert’s anus with their fingers; no narcotics were found.

3. Doctors performed a second exam of Eckert’s anus with their fingers; no narcotics were found.

4. Doctors penetrated Eckert’s anus to insert an enema.  Eckert was forced to defecate in front of doctors and police officers.  Eckert watched as doctors searched his stool.  No narcotics were found.

5. Doctors penetrated Eckert’s anus to insert an enema a second time.  Eckert was forced to defecate in front of doctors and police officers.  Eckert watched as doctors searched his stool.  No narcotics were found.

6. Doctors penetrated Eckert’s anus to insert an enema a third time.  Eckert was forced to defecate in front of doctors and police officers.  Eckert watched as doctors searched his stool.  No narcotics were found.

7. Doctors then x-rayed Eckert again; no narcotics were found.

8. Doctors prepared Eckert for surgery, sedated him, and then performed a colonoscopy where a scope with a camera was inserted into Eckert’s anus, rectum, colon, and large intestines.  No narcotics were found.

Suffice to say, if he had any inkling that he may have colon cancer, he would have definitely found out that day.  Not to forget to mention this, but at no time did he give consent to the doctors to perform any of those procedures on him.  Reading further into the KOB4 story, there may end up being legal issues with the warrant itself.  That has to add fire to the humiliation that guy’s already suffered.

If you think that this was a one time ordeal, then think again or better yet, ask Timothy Young.

Who is Mr. Young you ask, well he was pulled over on October 13, 2012 by the same police department for allegedly turning without signaling.  After a K9 alerted for drugs, he ended up getting the business at the same hospital as Mr. Eckert.  Both gentlemen have filed suit against the police departments involved as well as the doctors and hospital.

After hearing about this, I’m gonna chill out about DWB.  At least the police departments are not giving us the business like that, at least, not at the present time.  I’ll leave a sticky note on my dashboard to remember to not clench up my butt cheeks if I’m stopped by the cops.  Even if I’m trying to stop from taking a dump in my pants, I’ll just chalk those garments up as a loss that day.

6 thoughts on “Traffic stop gone just a bit too far

  1. As a White person, I will never experience that horror, but I got a very small taste of it some years ago. My partner at work was a young Black woman; we were close friends. I told her she was my 4th daughter & helped her pay for the books she needed for the college classes she was taking. Another of our stores needed help from one of us. I hated going to other stores, but her car was in the shop. So I told her to take mine. She agreed but made me write a note stating that she had my permission to be driving my car. Of course, I did, but I will never forget how horrified I was that this was necessary. Brosephus, this happened over 10 years ago & still haunts me. I didn’t know what to do about it then & I still don’t. Perhaps you have some suggestions for me?

    I thank you for allowing me to be a part of your blog & thus your life.

    Like

    • There’s not much you can do other than to be who you are. I think we will see a shift in things, but it will take a few generations to sort things out. Kids learn by watching the behavior of their elders. Just being a good influence does a lot. You’re more than welcome here as I learn more from what I hear from you and others here.

      Like

  2. In my opinion, there’s another thing we need to bring up here. It seems that in recent years, some segments of law enforcement (not the majority, of course) have come to view the general public as the enemy. I understand that they see the seamier side of society more than the average person but still, there’s a bit of an “us against them” attitude, among some of them.

    There’s was a thing on TV a while back, which I never got around to seeing, about the “militarization” of police forces and I think that’s something that should be looked at. Even my little county up here in the Hills has a SWAT team, now; practically every jurisdiction in the country has a SWAT team (Right off hand I can’t recall when the last time it was actually needed). I realize these things are necessary but I wonder if it isn’t a bit of overkill. I see stories on the TV news all the time about situations where a SWAT team has been called out, when it doesn’t seem to be necessary, at least to me.

    I don’t have the answers and don’t claim to but I think we need to be much more careful about certifying law officers. They have a tough enough job without bad apples making it worse for them.

    As to the situation you wrote about, I hope he does to them, financially, what they did to him physically. I suspect most of this resulted from trying to cover their ass after they didn’t find anything the first time. Better to quit while you’re behind (no pun intended).

    Like

    • I’ll make a mild defense of the “us against them” attitude for a second, if you’ll indulge me. It’s what is referred to as “officer mindset” which is basically survivor mentality. I don’t think most officers truly believe that, but when you’re in that uniform and on patrol, you kinda have to have that mindset to ensure you make it home to the family at night. There’s a way to go about it, and some do it better than others. The best way to describe it is using a quote from Gen. James Mattis USMC. “Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everybody you meet.”

      As far as the militarization, I think that is reactionary from instances like the North Hollywood Bank robbery and shootout. It’s not good overall as most people tend to respond better to the community oriented policing vs the military style. There may be times when an overwhelming presence is warranted, but it should not be the norm.

      Like

  3. Brosephus?

    Not an incident about which to laugh except when I read “The Mind of Brosephus” and thought…goes to anal probes and sorting through poop.

    I couldn’t help myself. I laughed anyway.

    Like

Leave a Reply

