The violence parade continues

Today, the Transportation and Security Administration (TSA) marked a grim milestone today.  They had their first screening officer killed in the line of duty today at LAX airport.  I’m sure there will be all kinds of people making all kinds of analytical assessments of what happened, what went wrong, and what happens now.  That’s what we, as Americans do after these incidents.

The one issue I have with the post-incident analysis is that you never get to hear from those most affected by the situation.  I don’t know if it’s a rule or not, but you won’t hear any TSA officers being interviewed by any of the number of hosts of the thousands of news programs that will air over the next few days.

In full disclosure, I previously worked for TSA as a screening officer for two and a half years.  That was several years ago and long before the current administration was sworn into office.  It was both a good and bad experience as working with the general public most often times turns out.  During that time, I met a lot of people who understood that I was simply performing a job and that I wasn’t the one making the rules and decisions.  At the same time, I came across people who called me everything from a “molester” because of the pat down procedures to a jack-booted thug.

Whether America wants to acknowledge it or not, we all shoulder a bit of responsibility for the shooting today.  Sure, the point will be made over and over again that the guy had mental issues.  However, those mental issues don’t generally manifest themselves into specifically targeted violence without some type of trigger mechanism or process that feeds into the psyche of the person.

People have heaped all kinds of criticism on the front line officers of TSA when a great deal of that criticism should be directed at those making the decisions, from the directors all the way to the halls of Congress.  The people who are most visible of an organization are generally not the ones who make the rules or have the necessary authority to change them.  You have to look for the “man behind the curtain” to direct that anger to the proper place.

I have friends who work at LAX, so I was nervous for most of the day until I heard that everybody I know was fine.  That’s of little consequence to the family of the slain officer though.  I’ve let my friends know to send them my condolences though.

I guess this will keep the talking heads chattering until the next shooting event.  I guess that, if Obama and that liberal agenda, were seriously trying to confiscate guns back in 2009 and 2012, we wouldn’t have these shootings anymore.  I guess we’ll wait until the cycle starts again with the next incident.

2 thoughts on “The violence parade continues

  1. Ah, Brosephus, whatever is to be done??!!?! I am truly at a loss for words here. The ACA mandates coverage for mental health issues, which of course will help some, but then there are the guns so readily available. Yes, I know you own & respect guns, but there are so many who don’t seem to care who gets hurt thru their carelessness. Okay, so I guess I wasn’t so much at a loss for words as I thought. 🙂

    Like

    • Gmare

      I honestly wish I had a clue. Listening to the voices of my friends in LA yesterday was painful as hell. I had friends who were killed almost 20 years ago in a robbery of a fast food restaurant where I worked when I was in school. I might have been a victim myself had I gone home as I had originally planned. The shooter was a high school classmate of mine.

      This country’s love affair with guns makes the situation all the more difficult to forge through. Guns themselves are not the problem as it takes someone to pull the trigger. The problem lies in how to keep them from people who don’t need them while allowing others to carry on as normal. You have people who will fight tooth and nail over the 2nd Amendment who otherwise don’t give a crap about other rights being trampled.

      Like

Leave a Reply

