This girl is AWESOME!!!

If you have not heard of Madison Kimrey, let me be the first to introduce the two of you. Back in July of this year, Ms. Kimrey was one of many protesters who were given slices of cake from the governor’s mansion in North Carolina during a protest over their latest voting rights law..  Not one to be deterred, she authored a petition at MoveOn.org titled, Pat McCrory:  Let’s Sit Down and Enjoy a Snack Together that opens with this passage:

“Governor McCrory, I’m the 12-year-old girl who was outside your residence and got the cake from your staff. I want you to understand I was not there that night to joke with your staff or ask for food. I was there because I care about what’s going on in my state.

I’d like to sit down with you and discuss two things. I’d like to tell you, in person, how your bringing out cookies, followed by your staff bringing out cake, followed by your response through your spokesperson made me feel. I would also like to discuss the part of H589 that deals with the ability of 16-17 year-olds to pre-register to vote. I don’t wish to debate you, I just want you to hear what I have to say and I want to hear what you have to say.”

I remember reading the story and though about how dismissive the governor was towards this young lady.  What kind of example is that for a sitting elected official to be so dismissive of someone who’s affected by the things he does in office?  After she asked for a chance to sit down and discuss this law with him, the governor went on a radio station and responded, “This is ridiculous.  This is all very liberal groups using children as I think, um, props, to push a very far left agenda. That’s all it is, is a media play, to get free publicity.”

I can’t answer for others, but that doesn’t sound like an elected official who’s truly concerned with the people he was elected to govern.  I seriously doubt that would have been his tone if that were some young girl asking questions that he agreed with.  He would have likely had the photo-op of the year set up to show that “he cares about the young people of North Carolina”

This is just one of many reasons why I dislike politicians.  I sincerely hope that this young lady sticks to her guns.  The longer she does, the more likely people will take her seriously.  She has her own blog titled “Functional Human Being”, and the writings on there are worth the read.  I’ve provided a link in this post as well as putting her on the list to the right.

Madison, YOU ROCK!!!!

5 thoughts on “This girl is AWESOME!!!

  1. It never ceases to amaze me what PR dunderheads some politicians are. All he had to do was sit down with her for 10 minutes, be polite, and the whole thing is a non-issue. He probably could’ve turned it into a PR victory and at worst a tie.

    Back when I used to go to management meetings there was one concept that was preached constantly. It was about how to “get the monkey off your back”, meaning getting rid of a problem. The advice, and it’s usually the best advice, is “shoot the monkey”. You get rid of the problem as quick as you can, however you have to do it and move on to something else.

    This Governor did the opposite, in my opinion, he “feed the monkey” and made it larger, relatively speaking. So much for our leaders being “the best and brightest”.

    Like

    • To be fair, I don’t think there’s any threshold requirement for best and/or brightest when it comes to elected office. On second thought, maybe we should consider a minimum threshold….

      Like

  2. Speaking of monkeys[1], I am reminded now of GW Bush’s appallingly stupid treatment of Cindy Sheehan, back in the day. I recall at the time how, if it had been Clinton being mildly harassed by such a grieving mother, he would’ve turned it into a PR victory for the Administration.

    As it was, of course, that episode with “the bitch in the ditch” would begin a very long, inexorable tumble out of favor with the public.

    ——-
    1. Yes, that was wrong of me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

