Loose lips sink ships

Looks like the North Carolina GOP has an opening in its leadership group.  I’ll post the disclaimer first before getting to what was said.

From Buncombe County GOP Chairman Henry Mitchell:  “Let me make it very clear, Mr. Yelton’s comments do not reflect the belief or feelings of Buncombe Republicans, nor do they mirror any core principle that our party is founded upon.  This mentality will not be supported or propagated within our party.”  Now, to get to what took place.

Last night’s episode of The Daily Show had an interview with former GOP Precinct Chairman Don Yelton.  During that interview, Mr. Yelton was quite open and frank about his views on North Carolina voters in regards to the voter law that the GOP just put in place there.

In the interview, which aired Wednesday night, Yelton tells Daily Show correspondent Aasif Mandvi that the new voting law, which mandates voter identifications, the curtailing of early voting operations and does not allow college students to vote using their school ID, “is going to kick the Democrats in the butt.” He also dismisses concerns that the law will particularly affect communities of color by saying, “If it hurts a bunch of lazy Blacks that want the government to give them everything, so be it.”

Over the course of the video, which is obviously edited down from what was a 2 hour interview, Mr. Yelton went from disparaging voters and calling them lazy to owning up that the voter law was supposed to kick Democrats in the butt.  You would think that a GOP official would either decline such a “set up” interview or would try harder to not put his foot into his mouth.  The GOP is already fighting an uphill battle in regards to the party’s attitude towards minorities, and this is the last thing they need to have floating around the internet.

For his part, Yelton said. “There’s nothing I said that I would take back. So be it,” when interviewed by a reporter from the Ashville Citizen-Times.  Given how quickly he was dismissed and disavowed by his party, I don’t think there was anything different he could say after the fact.

I can respect a man who’s honest with his true feelings, even if I don’t agree with them.  Obviously, I wouldn’t vote for someone with whom I don’t agree with.  I wouldn’t go as far as other people and call this interview racist.  Mr. Yelton does, however, have bigoted ideals, and I don’t think that’s what the GOP needs as this point.  Since I’m not a card-carrying member of the GOP, they probably don’t really care what I think though.  That said, when we have people in power who think this way, all of us citizens should carefully scrutinize their actions and ensure they’re working for the best interests of America instead of the best interest of the party.

4 thoughts on “Loose lips sink ships

  1. Quoth Brosephus — “I can respect a man who’s honest with his true feelings, even if I don’t agree with them. Obviously, I wouldn’t vote for someone with whom I don’t agree with.”

    Absolutely. If someone’s in the Klan, Christian Identity or some other freakazoid hate group like that, I *want* them to express their views in public. I *want* them to freely say what they’re about so that they expose themselves and so others can see them for what they are.

    The quicker they open their yaps, out themselves and marginalize themselves as crazoids who deserve neither attention nor support, the better off everyone else is.

    Like

  2. “There’s nothing I said that I would take back. So be it,”

    Open mouth, insert feet, chew vigorously.

    At that point there’s really no reason to dine on only one foot…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

