A sign of things to come?

Today, the FBI released footage from the Navy Yard shooting in Washington DC.  In that video, you can see the perpetrator methodically clearing rooms as he embarks upon his rampage.  For me, that shows how efficient a trained person with a gun can create chaos in a matter of seconds, nevermind that this particular incident went on for more than an hour.

Is this a precursor of things to come?  We have thousands upon thousands of soldiers who are suffering from Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome as a result of combat in Afghanistan and Iraq.  Suicides for military personnel have been increasing over the past few years, and it seems as though the VA Medical system is ill-equipped to handle them.

Will we see more instances of veterans going on shooting rampages like the Navy Yard Shooting?  For all our sakes, I hope this is an extremely isolated incident.  I don’t want to paint any veterans with the actions of this one person.  My hope is that our politicians dispense with the BS and ensure our veterans get the help they need in a timely manner.

2 thoughts on “A sign of things to come?

  1. I’m afraid that the odds are rather strong we’ll see something like this again. And not to take too cheap a shot, but when we are willing to fight vanity wars because they look good on TeeVee, perhaps we deserve it. That said, yes, let’s do all we can to help these guys (and gals) who are suffering, many of them silently I imagine, as I type.

    • I read a news article today that stated that more military personnel were treated for things like PTSD than physical injuries last year. I can’t find the link right now, but it’s all related to the numerous deployments to Iraq and Afghanistan. I honestly hope I’m wrong, but I see things lining up for this to become a problem.

Leave a Reply

