My native Alabamastan does me proud again

Dang it, just when I thought I’d be able to bash the NRA and the hypocrisy of compiling a registry while whining about the government doing the same, I get a buzz about things back at home.  Man, I really hate picking on the defenseless, but these idiots make it so friggin’ easy that it’s hard to say no.

I’ll let others do the talking for me.  Ladies and gentlemen, I introduce Mr. Dean Young for your viewing entertainment.

Here’s his “Pledge” that he wants others to sign off on in order to run for federal office in Alabamastan.

Now, if only Mr. Young had actually bothered to read the Alabama Constitution, he’d realize how much of a jackass he’s making himself look like.  He’s an embarrassment to not only my native state of Alabama, but an embarrassment to any and all people who respect the laws of the land.

Under Article I of the Alabama Constitution of 1901 (yeah, that mofo is old, but that’s how we roll in Alabamastan), you’ll find the Declaration of Rights.  This is found at the BEGINNING of the Constitution, so there’s no long, hard search to find this particular passage.

Article I:

Declaration of Rights:

[…]

“3. That no religion shall be established by law; that no preference shall be given by law to any religious sect, society, denomination, or mode of worship; that no one shall be compelled by law to attend any place of worship; nor to pay any tithes, taxes, or other rate for building or repairing any place of worship, or for maintaining any minister or ministry; that no religious test shall be required as a qualification to any office or public trust under this State; and that the civil rights, privileges, and capacities of any citizen shall not be in any manner affected by his religious principles.”

*Pardon me for the Wiki-link to the Constitutional passage, but the Alabama Legislature site refused to pull up the site where the Constitution could be found.

I don’t know what others think of him as I’m not currently residing in that district.  If anybody supports him, whether it’s the GOP establishment or citizens, they should all be required to take a reading class and civics course so they can actually educate themselves about the law in Alabama.  I can’t say it enough, but this idiot is a complete embarrassment to the entire state and it’s residents.  I wonder if I can change the birth state on my birth certificate.

8 thoughts on “My native Alabamastan does me proud again

  1. A lot of Southerners feel that the injunctions in state and Federal constitutions against establishing religion mean the government shouldn’t favor Methodists over Baptists or vice versa. It really never occurs to them that government might actually protect the rights of Muslims or Hindus or any of those other bogus religions, let alone atheists, and it certainly never occurs to them that society ought to tolerate anything a good Christian believer might consider unBiblical.

    Like

  2. Bro,

    Surely you have more interesting topics than picking on those folks who aren’t well educated and live religious morals. I don’t pay attention to this any more than I paid attention to inner city folk who exclaimed bo was gonna make house payments. The uneducated or otherwise misdirected folks have opinions as well, however misguided but relentless pounding is too easy for you. Depending on your view of the definition. I racism one can argue your response to these folks falls into that bucket. Heaven forbid anyone poke fun at the ignorance of other minorities. We see how quickly the race word appears.

    Like

    • If this guy was just some dude on the street, I wouldn’t have said a word about him. Instead, this guy is campaigning to potentially take a seat in our federal system of governance that has real potential to alter the direction of our country. I see it the same way as the difference between staying silent and letting a friend drive drunk vs doing what it takes to keep him from getting behind the wheel.

      I do have better things to talk about. Tonight, I’ll get to watch a documentary on the March on Washington that includes an interview with a family member who was there. I’m debating whether to hit my thoughts on that over the weekend or whether to wait on the actual anniversary.

      Like

      • Of course you should definitely opine. Pretty cool having family there and still kicking. Worries me all the heightened race rhetoric these past few years during current administration. If an isolated episode like Martin were no racism was legitimately proven does this…. Seems like only another pebble could set things down a bad course. Rhetoric is way out of proportion to any actions taking place today. Imo

        Like

  3. Too funny! But, at least he’s from Alabama and not Mississippi!

    AND

    “Unfortunately, that type of thinking ain’t limited to Southerners, although we may be a bit ahead of the curve in representation.”

    Two things here. One, thanks for making the point we don’t exactly have a patent on such lunacy and, two, thanks for that first person plural. It says a lot about you and how you see that, like it or not, that’s “us.”

    Like

  4. Pingback: Nobody’s a Moderate in the Republican Civil War | The Weekly Sift

Leave a Reply

