In Response to Walmart’s Threats to Pull Out of D.C. If Forced to Pay a ‘Living Wage’ Let’s Show Them What We Think by Making August ‘Walmart Free’

This is an interesting thought. I don’t know if it’s practical or not though. Personally, I will purposefully pay more to a mom and pop shop locally before I shop at Wal-Mart.

slothed

walmart

Update: The D.C. Council approved the ‘living wage’ bill despite of Walmart’s threats! But seriously, this post is still worth reading, the fight is not over. “Walmart Free August!”

WalMart Free August LogoWhat exactly would need to happen before people actually started boycotting Walmart? Do we need a few Walmart executives to kick down your door, barge in, slap around your wife and kids and take a shit on your floor? Would that be enough? Because, you know, in the grand scheme of things what this company is doing to America/Americans is far worse than even that fucked up scenario.

The bill that has Walmart execs up in arms is this, “The D.C. Council bill would require retailers with corporate sales of $1 billion or more and operating in spaces 75,000 square feet or larger to pay their employees no less than $12.50 an hour. The city’s minimum wage is $8.25.”

Sounds…

View original post 946 more words

One thought on “In Response to Walmart’s Threats to Pull Out of D.C. If Forced to Pay a ‘Living Wage’ Let’s Show Them What We Think by Making August ‘Walmart Free’

  1. It’s usually pretty easy for me to boycott WalMart. I hate the shopping experience even more than I hate their business practices. At the moment I go to WalMart maybe once or twice a year, and usually those occasions involve needing something when I’m traveling and can’t find a better store.

    Unfortunately, there’s a small shopping center around the corner from my house, terribly convenient when I’m on the way home from work. For many years there has been a grocery store there, but for some reason a whole string of them have failed. The space has been empty for the past couple of years and WalMart has now acquired it. They’re building one of their small stores, geared especially toward groceries. I’m looking forward to having it open. I’m sure I’ll go there once a month or so.

    I’ll never do my major grocery shopping there. I like Publix, and if I go past the new WalMart store in either of two directions, there’s a Publix just two or three miles away. I also do some destination shopping at places like Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods that are too far away for me to frequent regularly. But sometimes I just need to stop on the way home and pick up one little item — cream for my coffee or a loaf of bread or a dozen eggs — and it will be so wonderful to have a place where I can do that.

    It’s hard getting old. There are just too many issues now where I can see both sides. Sometimes even more than two sides.

    Like

Leave a Reply

