The Political Contortionists

Only in America can a politician, political party, and/or their faithful pull of such an epic political contortion such as what we’re viewing this year.  If you haven’t already heard about it, the Republicans in North Carolina have pulled the latest in this strategy of doing exactly what they’ve recently railed against.

From WRAL in Raleigh, North Carolina:

http://www.wral.com/nc-s-new-abortion-bill-follows-other-states/12621641/

________________________

Raleigh, N.C. — The anti-abortion omnibus bill that emerged without warning late Tuesday, House Bill 695, has much in common with anti-abortion laws and proposals in other states, including the bill in Texas that has mobilized thousands to protest in Austin last week.

Senate Republicans passed the legislation Tuesday evening after only 90 minutes’ public notice. The revamped bill, which started as a Sharia Law ban sent over from the House, wasn’t even available to the public online until just before the floor debate started.

Because of the Roe v. Wade case and subsequent decisions, states can’t ban abortion outright. But they can make it more difficult to get, and the current trend is to accomplish that by targeting clinics and doctors through what some call “TRAP” laws – Targeted Regulation of Abortion Providers.

________________________

h/t to The Chive for the image

We need to cut government regulations. We need to get the government out of the health care industry… We need to regulate the hell out of health care in respect to women’s reproductive rights…

Now, this is the same party that cried foul over “government takeover of healthcare” just a few years ago.  This is the same party, although different legislators, who have voted to repeal the ACA more than three dozen times.  This is also the party that cries about over regulation of businesses by the government.  Yet, there appears to be little concern or debate over government takeover of healthcare and applying burdensome regulations when it comes to a particular portion of the healthcare field.

I understand the anti-abortion crowd, and I understand their motivations and passions.  What I don’t understand is legislators going and doing a backroom deal behind closed doors to purposefully heavily regulate part of the healthcare industry in a heavy-handed government takeover when we have heard nothing but whining and complaining from that same political wing over the past 4 years or so.  You can’t have your cake and eat it too.  It makes you look like a hypocrite of epic proportions when you complain about someone doing something and then you turn around and do the same thing almost down to the letter.

Personally, I don’t think I could ever ask anybody to get an abortion, especially if it was my child being aborted.  I don’t think I could pay for someone to get an abortion either.  That said, I don’t think the government should be involved in the personal matters between a woman and her doctor.  I doubt we will see Roe v Wade overturned, so women have the right to an abortion up to a point.  Doing this extra BS to make it extremely hard for someone to do something that’s already legal is effed up.  Thinking harder about this, I should say it’s par for the course for the current incarnation of the GOP, but I don’t want to paint everyone with a broad brush.  However, they are beginning to leave a very distinct pattern wherever they have control of government.  They’re doing that with voting amongst other things (that’s another post for another day).

At some point in the near future, Americans will have to look in the mirror and take a total assessment of themselves.  Do we continue to vote for these contortionists who twist and bend more than a forest of pine trees during a tornado, or do we demand more from our elected officials.  If you’re going to claim the mantle of less government, less regulation, and such, don’t turn right back around and legislate big government, heavy regulation, and so on.  At the same time, the opposition party has to develop a spine that’s more substantive than a gummy worm and ensure that opposing views are also voiced and addressed.

*h/t to The Chive for the above image

10 thoughts on “The Political Contortionists

    • Thanks!!! I’ll likely return back home after a while. I simply couldn’t stomach too much more of the pettiness that was going on. This will allow me to express myself a bit more in detail without the background noise.

      Like

  1. Knock em out the box, Bro
    knock em out the box

    Good for you. Hope you get some good traffic and even better conversation.

    Like

  2. JAY BOOKMAN…aka various other deserved titles

    Oh, no, you weren’t! I beat you. I just put it in the wrong place… 🙂

    josef says:
    07/08/2013 at 9:40 am

    Like

    • I’m willing to split the difference with you as soon as they start rolling in. Neither word will be banned here as they both make me laugh.

      Like

  3. Years ago I was talking to Mike Jablonski, who was Roy Barnes’s right-hand man. Roy was running for something right then, so Mike did the right thing and made a good pitch for me to vote for Roy. I told him I couldn’t see doing that because at the time Roy was strongly anti-abortion, and there was at least one other candidate in the race who was not. Mike shook his head in frustration and gave me an impassioned minute or two on how wrong it was to be a single-issue voter.

    On that particular day I had a more important mission to get to than arguing with him, so I didn’t. But as I walked away I was pondering two slightly contradictory things: how condescending it was for him to think that because I had made that the deciding issue in this case, it was in fact my only issue; and how easy it was to say that when the issue in question could never possibly affect every aspect of your life in the way the abortion issue could possibly affect mine.

    We miss you at Jay’s place.

    Like

    • I don’t know of many people at all who are single issue voters. I generally look at the totality of things when I decide who to vote for. I may vote for someone who doesn’t support my interests if I feel as though they will be the most positive overall effective person to hold that office. I don’t feel that the world should revolve around me and my ideas, and I won’t vote for someone who I think will screw things up, even if I agree with them.

      I miss you all too, but I don’t miss the childlike mentality from some people there. Been kinda busy with work too, so this gives me a way to do an extended vent. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

